Growing Up Mom


How many times have you said to yourself that you will not be like your mother when you have kids? I know I said it about a million times when I was growing up! Well guess what, you can’t stop it from happening! No matter how hard you try you will at some point in time end up saying or doing things just like your own mother did, for better or worse.

The quote my mom used the most was “Because I said so!” I swore I would never use it when I had kids. When my oldest hit the famous “But Why?” stage I found myself using it, now it is said on a daily basis. Other hated but used now quotes are:

  • “This is my house, these are my rules!”
  • “When you pay your own rent you can do what you want!”
  • “If all your friends jumped off a bridge, would you? (My oldest always says “Depends how tall the bridge is.”  Smart Ass Kid!)
  • “Just wait until you have kids of your own!”
  • “If you don’t stop I am going to pull this car over!”
  • “Close the door…Do you think I am paying all this money to AC the whole neighborhood!”
  • “Leave your sister alone, and you stop that damn whining!”
  • “One day you will think this is funny.”

I can’t wait to see the look of horror on my own kids faces when one day it finally hits them like a ton of bricks, that yes in the end they will be just like their dear old mom!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Both my sister and I swore we would never be like our mother. Not that she was a bad mother, she wasn’t. She did the best she could. But I turned out a lot like her. My sister turned out more like my father. But they were both good parents so it doesn’t really matter.

    My own daughter and I are totally different. Nothing alike but we get along great so you just never know.

    But I think at one time or other I said every one of those things on your list.

    I had one more “I know everything, so don’t even go there.” Then they would catch me making a mistake and I would hear “But I thought you knew everything?” CAUGHT!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

