Two Scoops of Ice Cream Please


For the past few weeks I have been wondering why I have such a positive look on life. I know, strange thing to be wondering about, but hey that’s me!

My husband is just the opposite of me and is pessimistic to the point where it is actually starting to get on my nerves really bad. He has other issues right now that I think are not helping in this matter, but that is for a different post!

I came to the conclusion on my morning bike ride that being optimistic is really a matter of having faith. In my opinion there is a God and he does have a plan. Yes, bad things in life are going to happen that is a fact. I think it is how you deal with those things that really matter. Sometimes you just have to have a little faith, trust, whatever you want to call it.

About a year ago I came across a web page from a woman with whom I knew as a child. We were in Girl Scouts together. Julie was a year younger than me and I don’t think I ever saw her without a smile on her face. When I came across her web page she was 34 years old, married with 3 young kids and had Stage 4 Melanoma. She still had a smile on her face through it all. She knew her family would be taken care of and that when her body finally quit she would go to meet God.

She motivated me to get my shit together to put it simply. I just wish she could have known that before she passed away last November. Somehow I think she knows. Thanks a bunch Jules!

I quit smoking almost a year and a half ago and I knew it was not going to be easy. I was smoking 3 packs a day! I went through major withdrawals, I actually slept for 21 hours during day 2. But I kept thinking that at least I would be living a little bit longer for my kids.

My doctor than decided to scare the crap out of me and tell me my liver tests came back and they looked bad, real bad. I knew what the problem was, I drank to much. Easy solution for me, just stop drinking! Believe it or not I asked the big man for a little help. Done! I have been sober for 9 months.

I started to exercise to lose the 80 pounds I had put on over the years. Not drinking really helped this. Then I put the family on a eating better program. Well, I have lost 60 pounds in a year and only have 20 more to go!

I lost my job of 20 years because the owners finally decided to retire. I am lucky enough, I don’t have to work. So now I am getting to be more of a part of my kids life, whether they like it or not!

So to put all this rambling to an end, I will continue to look at the world as half full insted of half empty. Actually, I think I will look at the world as having 2 scoops of ice cream instead of 1!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. You sound a lot like me. I quit smoking a few years ago and everyone knows about my weight loss because I have such a big mouth. And now I stay home too. My positive attitude has changed everything about my life. I just wish I could pass it off to my son.

    Congratulations on all the things you are doing to make your life better.

    It’s a lot easier to be positive than negative.

    Reply
  2. I totally agree with you. Being negative is such hard work, and frankly I really don’t like work! 🙂

    Reply
  3. You are an inspiration to so many people who chose to dwell on the uglies in life. I am so proud of the changes you are making for yourself… and how they are benefiting your family as well.

    Yes, I think we could all use that extra scoop of ice cream. 😉

    Reply
  4. You GO, girl! 🙂 There’s so much negative dreck on the internet–it’s wonderful to see a good person doing good things with her life. Congrats to you!

    Reply
  5. Thanks for the kind words. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

