Gotta Sing, Gotta Dance… But Not To This!


I think it is time for me to start keeping my 15 year old daughter away from her 8 year old sister. My girls like to take their music outside and dance and sing in our backyard. No problem, right? Wrong! The 7 year age difference in my girls is creating a slight problem with this picture lately.

I went out in the backyard to spy on the girls water my flowers the other day and my 8 year old is singing a song at the top of her lungs and dancing. Not the usual Jonas Brothers or Hannah Montana music I am used to hearing her sing. Oh no, nothing that simple!

This is the song my innocent little 8 year old was singing, “I Kissed a Girl” by Katy Perry. I asked my sweet, little innocent child what she was singing and she said, “I don’t know, but I like the beat.” I told my 8 year old that the song was not a very good one and I did not want to hear her singing it again. I then turned to my rotten, evil teenager, who was laughing her ass off at her sister, and explained that certain music was off limits to 8 year olds and this song was one of them!

Oh, the fun of raising kids!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I fortunately didn’t run into that problem with my boy and girl. They were close in age, 2 1/2 years apart. But it was a different story with me. My sister is 6 years older than me and my brother 8 years. I can remember being around 6 years old and the two of them making me say all the swear words I knew. I never told on them though.

    Reply
  2. Jay

     /  June 26, 2008

    So…what’s wrong with the song now?

    Reply
  3. Oh the joys of parenthood. My granddaugther also sings along to songs I wonder if she knows what they are about!! What can you say, sometimes you do just like the “beat!:

    Reply
  4. Joan – yeah, you gotta love your siblings!

    Jay – Nothing is wrong with the song, it’s just not appropriate for an 8 year old in my opinion. In my house my opinion is the one that counts.

    Joy – Yep, I know what ya mean!

    Reply
  5. Ahhh the fun never ends! lol!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

