I Can See


For some reason when you become a mom you take care of everybody else but yourself. I became a mom at the fairly young age of 21. Trust me I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world! My sacrifices have all been worth it!

I have been wearing glasses since I was 16. I have only had 4 pairs of glasses in my lifetime. My oldest daughter started wearing glasses when she was 5 years old. Every year I take her to get her eyes examined and we get her a new pair of glasses. She has had 11 pairs of glasses in her lifetime.

The last time I got my eyes checked was 7 or 8 years ago. I got a 6 months supply of monthly contacts and a pair of glasses. I soak the contacts every night and rotate between the 6 pairs. I can’t stand wearing my glasses since they are all bent up from falling asleep with them on.

Lately I have been squinting and moving things away from or nearer to me to see them. Not good! So last week I broke down and went to the eye doctor. I got new contacts on the spot. My oldest daughter helped me pick out a pair of glasses that would not embarrass her in public. I have to admit I actually like them.

When I got in the car to go home, wearing my new contacts of course, I kept commenting on how I could actually read the road signs! My oldest daughter was like “That’s great you couldn’t read them before?!” Hey I knew what they meant and I know where I am driving anyway! I can see the car in front of me what else do you need!

Well finally I can see for miles!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I have been wearing glasses since the 7th grade and have no idea how many pairs I’ve had but MANY more than you’ve had. I needed them to “clear” things up but didn’t “really” need them to survive. If I lost them, I could carry on okay.

    Once “old age syndrome” hit and my arms started getting a little to short, I have to wear them all the time. I find now though, they never get lost because if they aren’t on my face, I’m asleep and I put them in the same place when I go to bed. I didn’t get a new pair last time but will this time. If I don’t need new lenses, I don’t get a new pair. I will admit to getting a funky pair of sunglasses since I didn’t need the other ones. Normally I have my old pair converted to sun glasses as not to waste the frame. I can’t stand those ones that darken by sunlight. I feel they aren’t dark enough for the sun but don’t get clear enough when I’m inside. When I’m done with a pair, I recycle them at my eye doc. They have a box to just donate them in right there in the office.

    Fussy little thing aren’t I???

    Your not fussy! Glasses are a very personal item! I tint me old glasses too.

    Reply
  2. That’s how I felt when I got my birthday glasses. Seeing is so much more fun now. Well, I’m glad you can read road signs now but I was like you I didn’t need to read signs I already know what they say. I haven’t heard that song in ages.

    Yes seeing is a pretty good thing. I don’t need road signs because I am a landmark driver. The problem is they are building too much stuff around here lately!

    Reply
  3. kaylee2

     /  July 11, 2008

    I am happy for you but no i dont have to wear that stuff yet 😉

    Be thankful that you don’t need glasses! They are a pain!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

