I Am Woman… Almost


My youngest daughter is having a bit of a hard time here lately. She is patiently sitting by and watching her older sister start to have a lot more privileges then she has. She is also tired of hearing me say, “That’s life, your sister is 7 years older than you. When you get older you will be able to do more things too.”

Well last night we were sitting on the couch watching a movie when my little one started talking about wearing perfume. I told her she can wear her perfume on special occasions to which she replied, “Mom, I am almost a woman you know!”

I couldn’t help it but I started laughing. There is something really funny when your 9 year old tells you she is “almost a woman!” This from the little girl who still wants me to read to her at night when I tuck her into bed!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. This is very cute. My granddaughter is the same way. She’ll be 8 next month and is so proud about how grown up she is and the next thing you know she wants a band aid on an invisible “owie!”

    Yep, gotta love kids, at least some of the time.

    Reply
  2. I can sympathize with your daughter. My sister is 6 years older than me and always got to do stuff I couldn’t but when I turned around 21 years old the age difference was gone and she is my number 1 best friend. She lives one street over from me and we talk on the phone about 5 times a day.

    “Mom, I am almost a woman you know!” That is just too funny. Out of the mouth of babes. How are the play dates going with the older one?

    As much as my two fight right now I just hope they talk to each other when they are older!
    As for the playdates, well her boyfriend got grounded due to his very high cell phone bill so she has not talked to him or seen for a week and a half. I really need to talk to his parents about this because now I have to live with a moping teen! Don’t they have any mercy!! 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

