The Gift That Keeps On Giving…Me A Head Ache!


July is birthday month here at my house. Both of my daughters were born in July. My oldest just turned 16 and my youngest will be 9 on Sunday. Last weekend my in-laws came down to celebrate their birthdays. They decided to give them each $30 in gift cards this year. My oldest daughter also received $40 in gift cards from her friends. 

I hate gift cards! To me they are a cop out. I think you should put some thought into what you give someone for a gift.

Last year my mother in-law took my oldest daughter out for a day of shopping, pedicures and then they had dinner with grandpa. My daughter loved spending the time with her grandmother as well as spending her money and really enjoyed the dinner with just her and her grandparents. My youngest daughter spent a day with her grandparents and her cousin who is 4 days older than her going to the circus. They all had a blast!

This year they get gift cards! That means I have to take them shopping! I hate shopping! I spent 2 hours with 2 girls in a store yesterday. Talk about a total nightmare. The little one did fairly well. She knew what she wanted and stuck with it. The oldest one on the other hand drove me nuts! She has to look at everything and then look at it all again. Then of course she buys the first thing she had her eye on!

Next year if my kids get gift cards I am telling the person who bought it that they must be the one to take them shopping!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I’m so with you about gift cards. I don’t like giving them or getting them. I was in a discussion once about them on a blog and you can’t believe how many people love to get them. For kids, I would never give them.

    I hate getting gift cards for myself because I always end up buying something for the kids!

    Reply
  2. My 15 year old daughter and I decided that unless I have tons of money (which is highly unlikely being a teacher and having a firefighter husband), that she will go shopping with friends instead of me. We have a great relationship, but every time here lately we try to shop together, it turns into that nightmare you spoke of. Teenage girls…and to think I prayed for her to be a girl! After 2 boys, I guess I thought I was a pretty good parent. HA!

    Yep, moms and teens shopping together is like mixing oil and water. It just doesn’t work! Thanks for stopping in and leaving a comment.

    Reply
  3. Tosha

     /  July 24, 2008

    I absolutely hate gift cards.. My niece asked me for money this year for her birthday and I flat out refused. I put alot of thought into my gifts and she got a gift I thought she’d enjoy..

    My oldest daughter got a lovely engraved jewerly box for her birthday this year, I don’t think she would trade that in for the $30 it cost at all. In the end I think kids like the gifts better as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

