Things I Learned From Edouard…


Luckily for us Tropical Storm Edouard was not much of a show for us. We got some much needed rain and just a little wind. But I have learned a lot from Edouard.

The main thing I have learned, or should I say been reminded of, is that some people are just plain stupid! You do not stock up on milk, yogurt, ice cream when you have a chance of power outages! You do not buy bags of ice until the power is actually out. I actually had neighbors put their trash out last night for trash pick-up this morning. Duh!

My favorite thing is watching the media cover major storms. One news station was telling people to stock up on canned meat and they were showing a picture of a can of cat food! Yum! This morning when they found out what a non-event Edouard was they got really funny! They went in search of trouble and as one reporter stated were on the look out for “Ponding” on the roads. What the hell is “Ponding?” Here in Houston our roads flood with a normal afternoon thunderstorm, but just what is ponding on the road? Another reporter was commenting on how some leaves were blocking a sewer drain and I swear it looked like he actually placed the leaves there on purpose!

The last thing I learned from Edouard is that the City of Houston hires Non-Essential Employees. The City of Houston stated yesterday that Non-Essential Employees should stay home today. How is that supposed to make you feel when you find out that you are a Non-Essential Employee? Then comes my next question, why is the City of Houston paying for Non-Essential Employees?

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. “why is the City of Houston paying for Non-Essential Employees?” That is a really good question. What on earth do those people do all day long?

    I love hurricane grocery shopping just so I can watch what people buy. It’s sort of funny to see what some people have for priorities. The liquor stores are more crowded than the grocery stores.

    I like watching people grocery shop on any given day. My oldest daughter and I can always pick out the single guys by what’s in their baskets! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Yeah the city isnt paying for those non essential employees.. your tax dollars are.. 😉

    i’m ready for edouard to be over.. the rain is getting annoying now.. this storm wasn’t much. The worst part was early this morning.. we’ve had worse thunderstorms..

    I think the news and media wanted it to be worse so they’d have something to do..

    Yeah I think the grocery stores paid the media to scare us all just so we would all spend more money!

    Reply
  3. TX Cajun

     /  August 5, 2008

    You must have been watching the same news cast I was. What was even funnier is when that truck went past and there was no water in the middle of the street. 🙂

    Yep, I guess there was no “ponding” on the road there!

    Reply
  4. I’m just glad your alright. I was worried about you and Tosha. I know nothing about hurricanes so yes, I did worry. They look so awful. We get so many tornado’s but there’s really no way to prepare for them. They just “come” on any given day so yes, we have flashlights and things like that all ready to go. Yes, no storing of the milk and yogurt!!! How dumb!!

    The reason I hate hurricanes is really because they bring the tornadoes along with them!

    Reply
  5. “The reason I hate hurricanes is really because they bring tornadoes along with them!”

    EXACTLY!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

