Poll Of The Week


The other day I spilled some salt on the table and being a creature of habit I took a pinch of the salt and tossed it over my left shoulder. My youngest daughter of course asked me why I did that. I told her because if not I would have bad luck according to what my mom told me. I also went without salt for 2 weeks when we moved into our new house because it is bad luck to bring salt with you when you move, somebody has to give it to you as a gift. My aunt was kind enough to bring me some salt when she finally made her way to visit us.

So I want to know:

Poll: Do you believe in superstitions or “Old Wives Tales”?

I also would love to hear what other “Old Wives Tales” or superstitions you have heard of or believe in!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I don’t know that I necessarily believe them but I do what you do. I think I like to believe them as I think of my grandma or someone from my past and that’s comforting to me.

    There is something to be said for traditions, if you want to call them that.

    Reply
  2. I don’t believe in superstitions but I grew up with them all around me.

    Don’t give knives as a gift or you’ll cut the friendshop.
    If you give someone a wallet you have to put a penny inside or they’ll always be broke.
    I don’t remember which it is but if one palm itches you’re going to come into money
    If you nose itches you’re going to kiss a fool
    If you butter a slice of bread then butter another one without eating the first someone’s coming to your door hungry
    Don’t let a baby see it’s reflection in a mirror or it won’t see it’s first birthday (yes, that one’s morbid)
    Never put a hat on a bed.

    I think I’d better stop here or I’ll be writing until tomorrow.

    I think if your left palm itches your are going to get money. Maybe when your right palm itches you are going to get a bill! 🙂
    I have heard most of these but I have not heard the one about the hat on a bed.

    Reply
  3. My biggest one is “Knock on wood” Thank God my cane is made of wood and I always have it with me. If I don’t knock on wood I start to feel a little OCD . Like I really have to knock on wood or else I will feel prickly until I do. It’s weird.

    I do the knock on wood thing all the time too!

    Reply
  4. I love all of these. I knock on wood all the time Joan.

    If I don’t have any wood to knock on I use my oldest daughter’s head and she gets real mad, but it makes the little one laugh! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Tosha

     /  August 7, 2008

    nope.. not even a little bit.. i’ve heard all the ones stated..

    I think they are fun myself, especially when you try telling a kid why you are doing them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

