Anniversary, What Anniversary?


Yesterday, I woke up and did my normal routine. Drank my coffee, exercised, ate breakfast, showered and then checked my e-mail. Normal day, everyone said good morning and went about their business as usual. No big deal, just another day.

Wrong!!! My husband comes over to my computer and puts a greeting card on the desk. Then he says, “You forgot today is our anniversary, didn’t you? Remember our church wedding?” My reply was “Of course I didn’t. I was going to pick up a card at lunch time and say something then.” Luckily he fell for that!

I don’t know why but I always forget our church wedding anniversary. I remember our civil wedding date, no problem. I felt like such a heel! It is usually the husband who forgets things like this not the wife!! The sad part is we have a needlepoint picture that my friend made in our bedroom which has the date on it and I dust it every week!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I’m terrible with dates. I can’t remember if we were married on March 28 or 29. My husband didn’t want a wedding ring when we got married due to an accident and amputated pinkey on his left hand (he got one on our 3rd anniverdary) so I got him a keychain with the date engraved. I also have some wedding bells his sister painted for us with the date hanging on the wall. When all else fails my nephew’s birthday is the same day so I just wait for him to remind me that his birthday’s coming up.

    I had my husband’s wedding band engraved with the date but it is the anniversary that I count, the first one! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love the Milk of Amnesia. I need me a case of that. But we know I’d forget to take it.

    Well, at least you got yourself out of it and he doesn’t know you forgot. I forgot to call my husband on the 9th to wish him a “Happy Anniversary If We Were Still Married”. He remembered to call me though.

    My old boss had this picture up in our break room. I love it! Lord knows I need some! 🙂
    You have such a good Wasband!

    Reply
  3. Tosha

     /  August 12, 2008

    My husband NEVER EVER EVER remembers. At least you saved yourself.. it was indeed a nice save!

    I’m not sure if it was a nice save or just his stupidity or maybe it was him be sympathetic, that’s it! 🙂

    Reply
  4. I’m pretty lucky with dates. For some reason they just stick in my head. You did indeed save the day nice though. Just a thought, do you have any of those birthday/special day programs that send you “reminders?” I think Facebook does that. Happy Anniversary.

    I always remember birthdays I just can’t remember this anniversary date for some reason. I think it is just a good old mental block! And yes, believe it or not, I have the date in my outlook calendar!

    Reply
  1. Question Of The Week « Life Is Funny Wearing Purple Colored Glasses

Leave a Reply

