Poll Of The Week


When I was growing up we had dinner as a family every night. If you were not home by 6 pm you had better be in the hospital! Even after my parents divorced my mom always had dinner on the table at 6 and I was expected to be sitting there eating it.

I have continued this tradition in my home and we have dinner as a family every night of the week. As a matter of fact before I got married I told my now husband that this was not even an area for compromise. Dinner at 6pm or you better be on your death bed!

So am I a rare breed in this day and age? How many times a week do you guys have dinner as a family? I am not even talking about homecooked food, even if you eat out do you at least do it as a family or is it a to each his own?

Nosey people like me want to know!

Poll: How many times a week do you sit down to eat dinner as a family?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. We eat together almost every day. The only exception is if the kids are outside playing and i’m enjoying the quiet time. Occasionally I let them continue to play while dh eats and I’ll wait till the kids come in but thats rare..

    There is always an exception to the rule. What is quiet time? 🙂

    Reply
  2. We eat together every night. Unless there is a business meeting or something which if that’s the case, a few times a year is all. Both my boys do it also with their families. It’s a great tradition. Even if we have “fast food,” we sit and eat and talk together. I’m so glad it’s not a lost art.

    There is something to be said for traditions.

    Reply
  3. We used to when the kids were younger and living at home but now that I live with my daughter and her husband I cook a great meal every night and they go downstairs to their apartment to eat alone together which I totally understand because they work so hard and don’t get much alone time. I eat at the computer. I miss family dinners though.

    You should start a Sunday Family Dinner. When I lived up north, every Sunday we all got together at my Aunt’s house for dinner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

