Question Of The Week (Formerly Known As Poll Of The Week)


With this being an election year and the Democratic National Convention going on this week I want to know: Do you talk to your kids about politics?

When I was a kid my parents never talked about politics much. I couldn’t tell you if they were Democrat, Republican, or Independent. As a matter of fact I couldn’t even tell you if they voted!

I, on the other hand, have always loved politics. I can remember being five years old and telling my dad everything he ever wanted to know about then Presidential nominee Jimmy Carter. As I got older I remember in junior high we had a mock election for the Reagan/Mondale election. We had to make a poster for the “election.” This is the poster I made:

Political Poster by you.

My kids hear about politics all the time. I am a Conservative Republican but I tell my kids that they need to listen to both sides of the fence and make up their own opinion on issues. If they agree with me, great, the more the merrier. If they disagree with me, cool, I have someone to debate with!

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. We absolutely talked to our kids about politics. We talked to them about almost everything. They could hear what we were talking about so they would just join in. We always voted and so do they. We are Republican’s for the most part but I do listen to each side before deciding. Had Hillary Clinton made the ticket, I may have voted Democratic this year for the first time since Jimmy Carter!! Our kids turned out to agree with us politically though my parents and I are on opposite sides. Go figure. We also taught our boys if you don’t vote, keep your mouth shut. You have no say if you don’t take part in the decision making and voting was an honor, privilege and duty.

    I agree with you, If you don’t vote you can’t complain! I even take my girls with me when I go to vote. I get a lot of compliments for teaching them how the process works when they come with me.

    Reply
  2. Tosha

     /  August 27, 2008

    They’ve heard what we’ve had to say in conversations with others (me talking with my dad) but they honestly could care less.. My dad and I have always talked politics.. We agree on a few issues and disagree on others..

    Most kids could care less about politics, that’s one of the benefits of being a kid! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

