Question Of The Week


Question of the Week: At what age should you let girls wear make-up?

stage_makeup.jpg

My youngest daughter currently goes to a catholic school. The school goes from pre-K to 8th grade. They have a very strict rule of no make-up for the girls. I for one have no problem with this rule but some of the moms with girls in the 6th to 8th grades think this rule should not apply to the older girls.

I let my 9 year old wear lip gloss and kid perfume. I let my older daughter wear nailpolish at 13 and full make-up at 15.

I have been told I am too strict on my kids but I don’t really want my girls to look like a Bratz doll either.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I got into trouble when i was in the 8th grade and tried to wear make up..My mom got onto me when I was a freshman and tried to wear make up.. Taylor (my oldest) will probably never be allowed to wear make up because of how sensitive her skin is.. she has severe ezcema and psoriasis of the face and scalp.. Anything like that irritates her skin big time. Dh had an aunt like that and taylor is well aware that she may never get to wear make up like her great aunt. She isnt happy about it at all either.. I don’t think you are to strict at all.. I agree with you..

    My oldest daughter got in trouble when she put make-up on at school and forgot to wash it off before she came home. The least she could have done was humor me and wash it off before she got home! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I let my daughter play with make up so much at home that when she got into high school she never wore it because she felt it was just too much trouble and she was pretty sick of it by that time. She did start wearing it very lightly when she started working. That’s my only experience with it. I, myself, have never worn it in my life. I certainly don’t think you are strict. It sounds like you are right on with the ages of what you let them wear.

    I don’t wear make-up much myself and I have found with my older daughter that she only wears a light amount of make-up now that I let her wear it.

    Reply
  3. I never had a girl so I’m not sure how I’d answer this. I hate Bratz dolls too and my granddaughter isn’t allowed to have them. I wasn’t allowed to wear make up (though I did sneak it) until I was 14 or so.

    I refuse to buy Bratz and if we get one for a present they go straight back to the store and we get something else.

    Reply
  4. Hmmm. I let my daughter wear light eye shadow at 12, but after about a week she grew bored with it. At 13, she’s now allowed to wear makeup in general, provided she uses a light touch. She only wears it occasionally–She’s a tomboy and considers it too girlie most of the time, so no makeup issues with that dd. Let’s hope we dodge the bullet with her sister, too.

    NOOOOO Bratz dolls here. I have never bought them for my girls. I’m not real fond of Barbies, either. Glad neither of my kids was ever into them much.

    My little one likes to play with make-up at her friends house but she is smart enough to wash it off before she comes home!
    My oldest daughter liked Barbies but the little one likes Polly Pockets which my vaccuum cleaner loves as well!

    Reply
  5. Forgot to say, that ‘catnip’ gif cracks me up! 😀

    I couldn’t help myself, probably too much catnip!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

