Hurricane Ike Lingo


I know everyone is probably sick and tired of hearing about Hurricane Ike, I know I am. But I could not resist writing this post, hopefully it will be the last one for Hurricane Ike!

Over the past 2 weeks we Texans have learned some new lingo thanks to Hurricane Ike:

  • Hunker Down – To Shelter In Place. To get ready for the upcoming storm.
  • POD – Point Of Distribution. This is where FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) hands out ice, MREs (Meals Ready to Eat) and water.
  • ICE – In Case of Emergency. It is a good idea to put in the word ICE in your cell phone with the phone number of somebody you think would  actually help you in an emergency.
  • Generator Fatigue – This is when you are tired of hearing running generators all night long.
  • Generator Envy – This is when you are envious of your neighbors generator.
  • Generator Snob – This is the neighbor who has a generator but will not let other people use it. * I was not a Generator Snob, I shared my generator with the neighbors I liked!

I have also learned a lot from Hurricane Ike:

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. kaylee2

     /  September 23, 2008

    i am glad you werent a snob and is Ike over yet???

    It’s not nice to be a snob!
    Ike is gone but he didn’t like the way our city looked so he did a little remodeling while he was here. The demolition part of the job is done, now we just have to finish with the rebuilding part! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I can’t even begin to image a hurricane. It would be my worst nightmare. I like a good old fashioned thunderstorm but this has to be awful. We have tornado’s but they touch down and go away. Hurricanes are so ongoing and go on and on for days. I can’t even imagine.

    I find the storms themselves fasicnating, it’s the aftermath that stinks! I actually took both of my kids out into our backyard when the winds got to be about 80mph. (They had baseball helmets on just incase!) They are weird like me and they thought it was awesome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

