Oops, She Did It Again!


In my house we have rules. Sometimes in my house, my kids do not like to follow my rules. I don’t think they have quite come to terms with the fact if you break the law, the law will break you!

We have a phone policy in my house. It is not all that hard to follow. My husband works from home so we keep our land line as a business phone. I have told my 16 year old that her friends may call my cell phone to reach her. Then if the land line is free she can call them back on that phone. Her friends are not to call the land line number.

Two weeks ago my dear little sweet 16 year old’s boyfriend called the land line. O.K., fine, so Baby Huey can’t grasp the phone rules. I grounded my daughter from the phones for 2 days and I had her call her boyfriend and tell him why she got grounded. Not too bad of a punishment, at least not to me.

The next day I pick up the land line to make a phone call and my dear little sweet 16 year old is on the line talking to her best friend. Busted! Her original punishment was revised from 2 days to 1 week.

Two days into the new sentencing she got busted again. This time she got busted really good. I went to bed around 11 pm one night and I could not go to sleep. I was just laying in my bed when I heard the squeak of one of our stairs. I knew someone was up but I just stayed in bed. About 5 minutes later I got out of bed and went into the kitchen where I noticed the portable phone was missing. Hmmm, did a little mouse take it? I think not it must be the big rat I call my 16 year old daughter! I quietly walked upstairs into my husbands office and picked up the phone in there. I hear Baby Huey ask if my daughter can talk. I piped in “No she can not! If I were you I would not call her for a very long time!” I hung up the phone and went in to my daughter’s room. I told her she would have to wait for her punishment until morning after I had a talk with her dad.

The next morning I talked to my husband and we decided that we would extend her sentencing of no phone to a full month and also take away her computer access. I put up on her My Space (I have her password) that she was grounded from the phone and the computer for a month.

Right now we are in week 2 of the new sentencing and truth be told, I can’t wait for her to go back to school next week. Since she can’t talk to her best friend or Baby Huey she is just plain driving me nuts! But I will not give in! I will stay strong!

Because of all the Baby Huey references I could not resist this!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Eee Gads….I love Baby Huey. That clip at the end was the perfect way to go. I’m almost wetting myself!!! What I’d like to ask though is why couldn’t/didn’t your daughter use your cell phone? Why choose the land line when you told her she could use yours? In my head that just doesn’t make sense. It’s not like you told her no phone at all! Kids, say no more. Also, way to stick to your guns. Once you make a punishment, if you don’t follow through, it will only happen again.

    Glad you liked the cartoon! If I could figure out why she does things the way she does them my life would probably be just a little bit easier!

    Reply
  2. You are one strong Mom. Good for you. I was strict about some things but I know I was too easy about others. If I could go back, there are definitely things I would do differently. At 16 my daughter had her own cell phone but she paid for it herself. I wanted her to have one if she was driving a car for emergencies. She bought her own car too but I told her she couldn’t drive it unless she had a cell phone which she would have to pay for herself. It worked out quite well. I also told her if she didn’t answer it when I called, I would take away her car. My son didn’t get a phone or a car for quite a while because he didn’t like to work so much. He had a beeper so I could still get in touch with him.

    That was my big thing. I had to know where they were at all times. So now my daughter is married and 29 years old and still calls me to tell me everywhere she goes.

    I am probably way too strict on my kids. Hopefully they will turn out alright and I won’t get blamed for to much when they are in therapy as adults! 🙂

    I like your rule about having a cell phone and paying for it in order to drive. I just might have to steal that one from you!

    Reply
  3. I am was/am a mom in your vain, it’s a shame there are not more moms like you out there.

    Thanks for stopping in and leaving a comment. I honestly think there are more moms out in the world like me but it’s only the bad ones we hear about!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

