Question Of The Week


Question of the week: Do or did you buy or make your kids Halloween costumes?

When I was growing up my mother always made our costumes. My mom was awesome at sewing so for her it was no big deal. As we got older we would put together our own costumes. One year my friend and I went as Siamese Twin Clowns. We won first place for best costume at a party and ended up fighting because they only gave us one trophy. Another year I went as a Hobo, I put on jeans and an old shirt of my dad’s, smeared charcoal all over my face and pants and I put my guitar on a twine string and slung it over my shoulder.

I do not sew, so I always buy my daughter’s their costumes. To me part of the fun was creating the costume myself. My youngest daughter still wants me to buy her a costume but I told my oldest daughter that she would have to put together her own this year or pay for a costume out of her own pocket.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I usually did what the boys wanted. When they were younger, they usually wanted those dumb plastic mask ones. As they got older they wanted to make up their own. I always helped but am inept at sewing and am terrible “creatively challenged” to say the least!!

    I feel your pain as I am “creatively challenged” myself!

    Reply
  2. I always made them. I made the best tinman costume for my son when he was about 5 years old. It was awesome. I would make a costume as long as it didn’t involve sewing. My daughter was a cheerleader, a wizard, a punk rocker and a ballet dancer.

    My daughters have either been a cheerleader or a princess for the most part and they have always been store bought. The tinman, wow, that must have been cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

