To Dye Or Not To Dye…


I am a brunette who is making the climb up the Hill of Life. Oh, alright I will be 38 in January! I started getting a few gray hairs back in my early 20’s. No big deal I just pulled them out. Then came the day in my late 20’s when the gray hairs decided to gang up on me! If I were to pull them out then I would have to start shopping for a wig!

Now that I am approaching the final steps up the Hill of Life I am starting to wonder if I should start to dye my hair. The gray hairs are not all bunched together on my head but are spread out randomly so it looks like I have silver highlights. Both of my girls think I should get my hair dyed and my husband, trying to stay out of trouble, doesn’t care one way or the other.

I don’t have a problem with my hair going gray to be honest. I feel like I have earned them, I think it is a sign of wisdom, it is my rite of passage into my 40’s. Or is it just time for me to shut up and dye?!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I started out like you did. Just random gray hairs that started in my mid 30’s. I was probably around 37 or so and I just started highlighting mine. Dying it completely one color was so drastic to me. I’ve been doing it ever since. I wouldn’t have had a problem being gray but I hate the texture of it. It’s all wiry and spirally. UGLY I thought. While I hate going to the shop and getting it done, I really like the way it looks and with highlighting, you have so many different colors that you don’t seem to notice the gray. I get two colors put in and with my own, I don’t even know what color my hair is anymore. Keep in mind that if you dye it all one color, it looks icky when it starts to grow out but with the highlighting, you don’t really notice.

    Thanks for the highlighting tip! I hate spending money on certain things, hair coloring being a big one! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I keep wanting to highlight, just for fun (I’m almost 38), but my husband really likes my silver hair. Weirdo!!! 🙂 I’m just kidding, I really appreciate that he accepts me the way nature (by whatever crazy premature reasoning!) intends.

    I have not been brave enough to dye or highlight yet because once you start you have to keep it up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

