Question Of The Week


Question of the week:  At what age should kids stop trick-or-treating?

This question comes up in my house every Halloween. My husband thinks that our oldest daughter should have stopped trick-or-treating around the age of 12 or 5th grade. I think you should stop trick-or-treating at what ever age you want too. I think I was 15 when I stopped. By that age we were into the tricking part of it! My daughter is 16 years old and she is planning on dressing up and taking her little 9 year old sister out trick-or-treating this year. Then afterwards she will have a couple of friends over to enjoy our annual neighborhood cul-de-sac street party.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I have to agree with you. Halloween is too much fun to be age-ist about it, and our kids have to grow up too fast anyway, so those teens who are still in touch with their inner little kid should just go out and have a good time!

    My sixteen year old did a similar thing last year and took her six year old sister around the neighborhood, but people were really mean about giving her candy (the older one), so after a couple of doors she just stood at the end of the driveway. It was sad, really.

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. 🙂
    That is just wrong for them not to give her candy! If someone comes to my door in a costume they get candy, no matter what age they are. I have even given candy out to adults who dressed up!

    Reply
  2. I tend to agree with you. I feel kids should go as long as they want to. Why not let them hang on to that last little bit of childhood as long as they want to? They might want to hang onto in themselves and not even know it yet. We went way longer than the kids do now. It’s such a fun night. Why can’t kids of any age just enjoy it as long as they want to?

    I say as long as the cops don’t have to bring you home, have fun!

    Reply
  3. My son is 12 this year, and he’s going, but he says this might be his last year. It is also my hubby’s b-day, so we make a habit of celebrating Halloween. I think it is sad when they stop trick or treating. **sigh** I’m lucky I get to dress-up just because I work with preschoolers, LOL.

    This year my older daughter is getting more into how to decorate the outside to really scare the little ones! So far I am loving how her evil mind is working! 🙂
    When I used to manage a fast-food restaurant I used to let my crew dress up for Halloween. We all used to have a blast!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

