Question Of The Week


Question of the week: How often do you weigh yourself?

I have found that I have to weigh myself every day or I start to gain weight. For the past 2 weeks I have gotten really lazy on my eating habits and I stopped weighing myself every day. I gained almost 10 pounds! Now I am pissed off at myself and I am back on track with my eating and I had to step up my exercising program. So far this week I have lost 5 of those pounds. From now on I am stepping on that scale!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I weigh myself every day because I find that to be a great motivator. In case my weight has gone down, I feel really good about myself and am more willing to exercise. On the other hand, if my weight has gone up, it’s a sign that I need to get back on track with my diet and be more careful with what I eat and will end up exercising more.

    Thanks for stopping in and leaving a comment.
    I totally agree with you with the scale being a motivator!

    Reply
  2. I’m happy your on the right road again. This is a touchy subject with me. Without going into specifics, 8 years ago I lost 50 pounds. I kept the weight off for 6 years and have since put it all back on. There are a lot of reasons that I didn’t keep it off. Some very hard to explain but basically, I think I wanted to just hide within myself and felt I could do that better fat. I now feel sick. I’m tired all the time and have no energy to do much and I hate going anywhere. Nothing fits me or feels good. I’ve been meaning to get back on track and I know I can do it because I did it once already but I seem to have no motivation. When I did weigh myself everyday, it was easier to monitor if I had put on a few pounds and would step up my running or cut out chips. I haven’t stepped on a scale since I became fat again and would probably burst into tears. I don’t want to look good for anyone else but it would be really nice to have the energy level again.

    You made me look at myself today and I have to get myself up and working. I used to feel so good.
    Joy, I have been on the weight yo-yo all my life. At 15 I was 200 pounds went down to 115 pounds. I started to gain my weight back when I hit 32 and I went right back up to 200 pounds. Being that I am 5’2″ that is not a good thing! My doctor was nice enough to scare the crap out of me. He told me my liver was no good in part due to drinking the other part being overweight. Plus my blood pressure was very high because of the weight. My mom had a stroke and died at 65 and I did not want that to happen to me. After a year and a half I am down to 140 pounds, almost off my blood pressure medicine and I can out run both of my daughters. I eat and gain weight when I get depressed and to be truthful I think I have just hit a place in life where I don’t care what other people think about me anymoe. I am losing weight for me and so that my girls get to spend a little bit more time with me than I got to spend with my mom.

    Reply
  3. I used to weigh myself twice a day. It got to be a bit of an OCD thing, really. Now I weigh myself twice a week, max. I have to be careful. The scale and I are not friends and it leads to problems for me. 😀 So I remain a happy size 12, and try not to obsess about it too much.

    You said the key word: Happy! Life is all about being happy with yourself.

    Reply
  4. Uh…never, if I can help it. We don’t own a scale, so I get weighed every few years at a doctor’s office. I judge by how my clothes fit and figure that’s good enough for me.

    I sometimes wish I could throw the scale away!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

