Question Of The Week


Question of the week: Should kids address adults by Mr., Mrs., Ms., Miss or is it alright for kids to use an adults first name?

  

This has been a pet peeve of mine since I was a kid! I have always addressed adults as Mr. or Mrs. So-and-So. Even to this day I address people who are older this way. To me it is a sign of respect. I have tried to teach my children to do the same thing but they seem to run into adults who insist that they use their first name. The other thing I hate is when they tell the kids to call them Ms. Jane or Mr. John.

I had a little boy the other day at my daughter’s school ask me my name. I told him I was Mrs. So-and-so and he said no I want to know your first name! He kept on asking for my first name so I finally told him it was Mrs and walked away!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I’m a big, big, big believer in using the correct title for a person. My children were taught to do that, and my students call me Mrs. with my last name. I believe that it teaches respect.

    I think it is a sign of respect as well. I also think that too many adults are trying to be friends with the kids and that is why they want to be called by their first names.

    Reply
  2. Another vote here for Mr & Mrs. I taught my children this as well. I’m also a firm believer in calling Aunts and Uncles, Aunt so and so and Uncle so and so. I feel if you have a “title” it should be a part of your name. When I worked at the school some of the kids called me Mrs E. I was fine with that. Some kids want to kind of give you a nickname and I was the “nice lunch/playground lady so a lot of kids liked shortening my name. It made me feel closer to some of them.

    We use Aunt and Uncle here as well.

    Reply
  3. For a long time I’ve said that the problem with a lot of kids is they don’t respect people because they’re on equal ground by calling them by their first names. The title Mr., Mrs. or Miss come with a little respect which disappears when you’re on a first name basis with everyone. I’m 51 and I still call my friend’s parents Mr. and Mrs. That’s the way I was brought up and that’s the way I’ll continue to be.

    I married my husband 5 years ago and his grown nieces and nephews call me Aunt Dee. His daughter was 16 when we got married and she just calls me Dee but I’m sure she has a few choice nicknames I don’t hear. Her daughter who’s 3 calls me Grandma or Grandma Dee.

    When I worked with the kids at church they were told by the woman who ran the kids club to call everyone Mr. FIRST NAME or Miss FIRST NAME. I’ve never been comfortable with that title but it could be because I wasn’t raised to do that.

    I am with you on using Mr. Mrs. Miss…it’s just the way I was raised and it’s just the way I am raising my girls!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

