Family Loss


We have had a loss in our family this weekend. My husband’s brother-in-law (his sister’s husband) suffered a massive stroke and will not make it through. He will leave behind his wife and two boys, 21 and 17.

Right now we are just playing the waiting game. My youngest daughter had a hard time understanding why her Uncle just didn’t go ahead and die. For some reason I explained it to her like this and after thinking about what I had said to her I just love this thought:

“God is getting your uncle’s room ready for him up in heaven. When he has it all set-up for him he will come and get him.”

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I was wondering where you’d been. I hadn’t seen you anywhere. I’m so sorry for this. I hope things go quickly and smoothly and I will be thinking of you and saying a prayer. You never have enough of those. My best wishes are coming your way. I love the “getting the room ready.” What a nice thought.

    Thank you for your thoughts and prayers.

    Reply
  2. I am so sorry. That “getting the room ready” was a great way to explain what’s happening. I’ll be lighting one of my candles tonight for you and your family.

    Thanks Joan.

    Reply
  3. This morning my husband’s brother-in-law finally went on up to his new room. Ironically yesterday was his 50th birthday.

    Reply
  4. On his birthday?? Ironic is right. My wishes are with you guys.
    He passed away the day after his birthday. Thanks.

    Reply
  5. My sympathies to you and your family. I loved your explanation.

    Thank you. When my mother passed away year ago I told my oldest daughter who was 4 at the time that when you die you get your own star in the sky. I still catch her looking up at night and even talking to it sometimes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

