T Is For Too Much Turkey!


As usual I ate way too much this Thanksgiving! I wasn’t as bad as my mother-in-law though, she piled her plate with so many side dishes that she had no room for turkey on her plate!

We had 5 kids and 8 adults this Thanksgiving. One of my nephews finally made it to the adult table. During our blessings I welcomed him to the big table and my mother-in-law said that he had sat here last year. I looked at my nephew and he looked at me and we both started to laugh. He was not even there last year for Thanksgiving because he had to work! I told her that’s what happens when the wine bottles start flowing.

Overall we had a very nice Thanksgiving. The kids all got along and so did the adults come to think of it.

My in-laws did mention that this would be the last year that they would be having Thanksgiving at their house. They can’t seem to put up with the noise level or the energy of the kids any more! At least this year nothing was broken!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I’m so happy you had a good Thanksgiving. So did I. For someone who doesn’t like the holiday, I had a great day with my oldest son and his family. My daughter in law did a terrific job and I can’t tell you how nice it was to go somewhere else. I can understand how and why your in laws feel that way. It’s just so darn much work. It was fun for me to go elsewhere. I too, really overate. I’m not much into sweets but my mom brought banana cream pies and they are really my downfall. I couldn’t wait to sink my teeth into that and I couldn’t even eat it all 😦

    I told my father-in-law that I would do it next year if I had too. Hopefully one of my sister-in-laws will step up!
    My downfall was the stuffing and the mince meat pie!

    Reply
  2. I am happy to hear your dinner went well. Thanksgiving is humorously named “Gluttony Weekend” at our house.

    I love that name! It fits perfectly!

    Reply
  3. I love big gatherings! I’m glad yours was so pleasant!

    The more the merrier I say! 🙂

    Reply
  4. kaylee2

     /  December 2, 2008

    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

