Does Spelling Count?


This past Saturday my town held it’s annual Holiday Parade. My youngest daughter’s Catholic School Spirit Squad entered a float. The girls, who are 3rd, 4th & 5th graders, rode on the float. They sang Christmas songs and yelled some of their cheers. I volunteered to walk along side the float to make sure nobody fell off. My oldest daughter was going to tag along with me but she was put in charge of the music and got to ride on the float at the last minute. Needless to say we had a great time!

I was walking at the very back of our float all night long and I kept thinking something just doesn’t look right. I thought the banner on the float was misspelled but I didn’t want to say anything just in case I was wrong.

Right after we passed the judges station the person who made our banner said: “I hope they don’t count for spelling!”

I just started cracking up as did all of the other parents helping out!

st-mary-spirit-squad-float12-05-08

Here are a few of our comments:
“Leave it to a Catholic School to take Christ out of Christmas!”
“Just think we pay extra for this education!”
“I don’t think this is going to help our enrollment any!”

Leave it to a Catholic School to spell Christmas wrong!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Isn’t that funny? Hey, it was a bunch of kids. They had good intentions. Don’t we all do that at times? Sometimes it just gets messed up. What a great night you had. I love those kinds of parades. I LOVE lights.

    The sad part was it was not the kids but a parent who had the letters wrong when she glued it on there. The even funnier part is that she had another parent double check it before she got the glue gun out! I am starting to wonder if alcohol was a factor in this! 🙂

    Reply
  2. LOL!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

