Homework Trouble


In my house we have a system in the afternoons for homework that works really well. It involves me, and only me, helping out both girls. The oldest one sits at the dining room table and the youngest one sits at the kitchen table and I run back and forth. The youngest one has a great teacher who only wants the kids to do homework for an hour. We are supposed to focus on the subject she needs the most help with and then move on from there.

Well yesterday the system broke down!

My oldest daughter has been complaining of a toothache for a couple of days. I called the dentist yesterday and they said they could get her in at 4 pm that same day. I grabbed it! I called my husband and told him he needed to pick-up our youngest daughter at school. I told him to get her started on her homework and I would help her if she got stuck on something when I got home. He took it upon himself to try and help her with all of her homework. 

When I got home at 5:30 pm I found my youngest daughter lying on the couch just plain worn out. I asked her what was wrong and she said, “Don’t ever let Daddy help me with homework again! I know he is the one who went to college and all but he is not as smart as you!”

My husband started complaining about how the teacher, with whom he has never met, gives out way too much homework. He then started saying how he had to teach our daughter how to do math. I am now thinking “Oh, Crap he screwed everything up!’

My youngest daughter looked at me and then started crying. She told me she was going to get in trouble because Daddy wouldn’t let her finish a math paper that she had to turn in no matter what.

I told her I would write a note to her teacher and  explain everything to her. This is my note: 

note

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I am laughing so hard. Did you really send that?? Your sense of humor is wonderful. You’ll have to let us know how the teacher responded to this note. LMAO!!

    I did send it and I asked my daughter if she said anything about the letter. She said “She didn’t say anything but she was laughing pretty hard!” I am so glad I could brighten her day a little! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Yes, that is so funny. What is it about men? You can’t leave them alone for a minute. It sounds like something my wasband would have done.

    It is times like these that I know why God created mothers!

    Reply
  3. That’s hilarious!

    But on a serious note, it does bother me how they change the math procedures all the time. Aside from making us old people feel like we don’t know how to multiply anymore, it seems as though they’ve made it all more complicated!

    They complicated my daughter’s multiplication and while I was helping her she saw me doing it the old fashioned way and she took it upon herself to aske her teacher if she could do it my way. The teacher told her she could and she told her how smart she was for finding something that worked for her!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

