Christmas Tradition


A long time ago when I was in the 8th grade I took Home Economics as one of my electives. We learned how to make a recipe called Cream Cheese Braids. They are similar to a Cream Cheese Breakfast Danish. That year I made them as Christmas presents for friends and family. Little did I know 20 plus years later it would be a family tradition.

Every year we make them and give them to family, friends, neighbors, and teachers. I took a count yesterday and we are making 3 batches this year which will give us 12 loaves.

Since I can not make them for everyone that stops in and takes the time to read my blog I will post the recipe. My Christmas present to all of you. 🙂

braided_bread

 Cream Cheese Braids

 

1 cup sour cream                                       2 pkg. dry yeast

½ cup sugar                                              ½ cup warm water

1 tsp. salt                                                   2 eggs

½ cup melted butter                                   4 cups flour

 

Heat sour cream over low heat, stir in sugar and butter.

Dissolve yeast in warm water (NOT HOT).

Combine sour cream and yeast; add eggs, salt and flour.

Cover tightly and refrigerate overnight.

 

The next day, divide dough into 4 equal parts.

Roll out each on well-floured board into 12” x 8” rectangles.

Spread ¼ of the filling on each rectangle.

Roll jellyroll style, beginning on a long side.

Pinch edges together and fold ends under slightly.

Place seam side down on a greased baking sheet.

Slit each roll at 2” intervals about 2/3 of the way through to resemble a braid.

Cover and let rise until doubled in bulk.

Bake at 375 for 12-15 minutes.

Spread with glaze while warm.

 

Filling: Mix all ingredients together

 

16 oz. cream cheese, softened

¾ cup sugar

1 egg beaten

2 tsp. vanilla

 

Glaze: Mix all ingredients together

 

2 cups powdered sugar

4 tbsp. milk

2 tsp. vanilla

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. My boys will LOVE this. I’m gonna try it. I don’t bake much because I normally don’t eat sweets but I love breads. I don’t suppose you have a pic do you?

    I found a picture of it on the internet and posted it for you! I wrap mine in aluminum foil and have the kids decorate them with green and red Sharpie pens.

    Reply
  2. Thanks so much. It looks wonderful.

    Your welcome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

