“But You Never Made One With Me!”


My youngest daughter has been begging me for the last two weeks to buy a kit to make a Gingerbread House. I kept telling her “I made one before with your older sister and I swore I would never, ever, make one again!”

She batted her beautiful blue eyes at me and said, “But you never made one with me!”

How can you say no to that? Very easily! I laughed at her and said “Nice try!”

Friday, while she was at school, I stopped in at the grocery store and picked up a dog-gone Gingerbread House kit. She was right, I never made one with her before.

When I got home I put a pretend stamp on it and a mailing sticker that was addressed from the North Pole to her and I left it on the front porch. Hey, this is probably the last year I have for this sappy stuff!

I picked her up from school and when we drove up to the house she saw the package on the front porch. She ran to the door and just screamed. You know, that high pitch, little 9 year old girl scream that goes right through your head?!

We ended up putting the Gingerbread House together on Sunday. The kits have gotten better since the last time I made one, that is for sure! I basically put the house together and she decorated it. She did a very good job and she had a blast doing it. She even let her sister put a few gumballs on the roof!

I even learned something from her during the project. I started to get all anal and control freakish as I do on occasion and she left me with these words of wisdom: “Mom, this doesn’t have to be perfect, it just has to be fun!”

Our Fun Gingerbread House

Our Fun Gingerbread House

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. That is so darn cute. I was telling the grandkids yesterday that we’d get one of these kits to do on Christmas Day. Yours turned out terrific. I’ll show them this one to give them an idea of a “real” one. The way those boxes look, it’s like an adult artist did them.

    I’m glad now you’ve done it with her.

    It was really easier than it looks! I think your grandkids would love to do one!

    Reply
  2. Now you’re off the hook forever! ha ha. Until the grandkids come up to you with their puppy eyes…

    That’s a great story. I love how you surprised her with it. (Those screams are okay if they aren’t mad screams!) The house looks perfect and your daughter is wise beyond her years… I’m going to have to remember that… It doesn’t have to be perfect, it just has to be fun!!! YES!!!

    I’ve always wanted to do one of these. My six year old is beside herself whenever she sees one on tv, so we may go ahead and tackle that project.

    Go for it! It was actually fun once I listened to daughter!

    Reply
  3. Wow, your house looks great! We did that one year and it wound up looking like a an outhouse. ;0)

    Thanks for the help with the snow. I found it!

    The first one I made with my oldest daughter years ago wouldn’t even have passed as an outhouse! It looked more like a homeless person’s cardboard house! I was so glad to see the kits have improved over the years!

    Your welcome with the snow help. Imagine that a Texan helped you find snow! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

