Teens Trying To Make Plans


My 16 year old daughter has been driving me nuts all week! She keeps asking me if she can go to the movies which I have no problem with usually. My problem this week is she asks me 5 minutes after dinner! Sorry I am not going to drive you to the movies at 7 pm and then of course have to pick you up at 10 pm! I am old, my bedtime is around 9!

This morning I told her I would take her to the movies if she wanted. Now she doesn’t want to go because all her friends either have plans or are still sleeping! Whatever happened to the days of calling your friend, saying “Hey do you want to go to the movies tomorrow at noon?”, and then making it happen.

Am I just getting old or do kids today not understand the concept of making plans? And she wonders why my hair is getting grayer and grayer!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. So right. Sooooo right. Did I mention that you are so right?

    Our children are famous for the last second plans that involve their father or I A: spending money and B: driving them somewhere. My personal favorite is, “Mom! So and so’s Mom is on the phone!” (This usually involves a spontaneous request to spend the night somewhere, with two harried and clueless Moms who have never met placed on the phone together without warning.)

    Someday we’ll miss the madness though, right? 🙂

    I love getting to talk to total strangers with no warning. It’s right up there with getting an in grown toe nail removed!
    As for missing the madness, hmmm, let me think about that one for a bit!

    Reply
  2. Since I have no kids at home anymore, I don’t know if this is a new thing or not. But my boys did try and pull this with me a “few” times but they quickly came to know that I don’t do “spur of the moment” and if they put me on the spot, it was an automatic NO. I just told them that and stuck with it so there were no surprises for them either. I hate flying by the seat of my pants and they had to know that in order for me not to smother them in their sleep.

    I used to fly by the seat of my pants but it seems as I get older I can’t do it anymore. I wouldn’t dare smother my kids in their sleep, I’d be the one to have to go in the next morning and clean up! 🙂

    Reply
  3. My kids are like that too. Always wanting to plan things at the last minute, and not thinking ahead. Maybe it’s my fault for scheduling play dates from little on, but I remember that by the time I was 12 I did not want my folks setting things up for me, and I knew to ask (my folks and my friends) well ahead of time. **sigh** I’m trying to teach them this, but it is seemingly impossible, LOL.

    If you ever succeed let me know how you did it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

