In Hog Heaven


We hit the mother lode yesterday afternoon. One of my husband’s friends called and asked if we wanted some wild hog that they killed over the weekend. I, being the one who does all the grocery shopping, of course said yes.
We got the meat yesterday. Luckily it was quartered out for us. I don’t think I could have handled looking at the face or anything like that. Obviously I am not a hunter! We cut the meat up this morning in about 3 hours. I think I have 25 meals worth in my freezer now. Most of it is chunk meat for soups, casseroles, stir-frying. We did get 2 meals of tenderloins and 4 meals of boneless chops.

Now I need to go find some pork recipes so the kids don’t complain about eating the same thing over and over again!

“th-th-th-that’s all folks!”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. We bought a pig (dead) last fall and it’s been really nice to have beef and pork in the freezer this winter. I’ve never had wild hog though so I wonder if it will taste the same. You’ll have to let me know. I have a really good recipe for sweet and sour sauce and I brown ribs or stewing meat in it and it’s super good. If you want the recipe, let me know. Also, do you like saur kraut? I have a really good one for that but I know most people don’t like it.

    Reply
  2. Joy ~ The wild hog is very good. It is not gamey at all. Trust me I do not cook gamey food at all. I cooked a wild turkey once and it smelled so bad I just threw it all away with out tasting it! We are not Sweet & Sour people but the Saurakraut sounds good. If you have time could you e-mail it too me? justamom2008@yahoo.com

    Reply
  3. we don’t buy meat from the grocery store other than lunch meat.. Everything we eat is what my husband kills so i totally understand.. we just killed and cut up i think 5 hogs and had some sausage made and pork chops and all that fun stuff..

    Reply
  4. Stop it … I am stuck at work and you are making me hungry! 😡

    Reply

Leave a Reply

