My Fellow Americans…


Next week we will be saying goodbye to President George W. Bush and we will be swearing in our 44th President of the United States of America, Barack Obama.

I admit I am actually one of those strange people who likes a good election. I am a very conservative republican. Needless to say my team lost this go around.

I have heard a lot of negative responses about our new President. Frankly I am sick and tired of hearing them and I hope I do not have to listen to 4 years of it.

Right now our economy sucks and our troops are still fighting a war. I honestly believe President Bush did his job to the best of his ability. Good or bad we are where we are.

I truly hope President Obama can fix a few things while he is in the White House and that our economy will bounce back. He will be in my prayers as was President Bush.

My father-in-law put my feelings into words perfectly a couple of weeks ago. He said: “When I was growing up you had your election and when election night was over you had a new President. If your team lost you said “oh well, maybe next time”, and then you went back to being Americans.”

I think it is time for us all, as Americans, to welcome our new President into the White House and to keep him and his family in our prayers.

I would like to add the following:
Thank you President Bush for all your years of service to our Great Nation and President Obama, I wish you well while you start yours. 

WhiteHouseSouthFacade.JPG

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. My team lost this go around too and I’m with you. I’ll be big enough to want what’s best for America. My prayers go out to both men and I hope things will finally start to look up.

    Reply
  2. OK I’ll take the opportunity to come off the fence again.

    I totally agree that it is stupid to whine and moan about loosing the election … That is part of any democracy.

    I am not sure I agree with your assessment of GWB though. I don’t disagree with his decision to go to war in either venue, however the excecution was poor, and as much as it was not directly his doing, he is the man to which the buck stops. The economy too can be argued has been due to circumstances beyond his control and any contributing policies can be attributed to the otherside as much as to him.

    But far more importantly to me is the fact that he has ridden rough shod across the guiding principles that many of his electorate hold dear.

    Presumption of innocence.
    A fair trial.
    Abuse of Executive privilege.
    His denial any science that does not suit.

    For the other things you can blame circumstances beyond his control … for these I feel there is little defence.

    (Again I am saying what I feel without the intent of causing offence).

    Reply
  3. Mr. Geek ~ Glad to see you come off the fence. Your opinion as well as every one elses is always welcome here. Even if I don’t always agree with you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

