What Did You Do With My Real Daughter?


Somehow my 16 year old daughter and I got on the subject about how I told her about what happens when your body starts to go through changes when you’re younger. 

Let me give you a little past history: Back when my 16 year old was in 5th grade I was the “meanest mom in the whole wide world” because I would not let the school have “The Talk” with her. They sit the 5th grade girls in one room with a video to watch and then they ask if there are any questions. That’s it! Now go home! Well I said no to this approach and my daughter went and read to the kindergarten class.

I figure I would not tell my girls about things until they start to happen. Sorry, you don’t need a bra until you really need a bra. It’s not a status thing. You don’t need to know about menstrual cycles in the 5th grade when you are probably not going to start on until the 7th grade.

Both of my daughter’s birthdays are in July so they are really young for their classes. I actually held my oldest back in 5th grade but that’s a different story.

I told my oldest daughter that I was going to have to think about how I was going to handle it with her sister next year in school. My 16 year old told me to handle it the same way I did with her. She said it was better hearing it from me than it was from the school! This was actually a really big shocker to me!

I am still trying to figure out who took my real daughter, that way I can lock all the windows and doors when they try and return her!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. LOL Just A Mom…..don’t worry, she will probably return every now and then. My best friend has a 17 year old and she rears her ugly head sometimes at the most trying of times!! Your not out of the woods quite yet! *sorry*

    I agree with you on the whole learning at school thing. I did let the school do it with my boys but with boys, not getting periods and stuff, it was different so I let the school start and then it gave me the opening to talk more about things then and then again as they came up. But girls are so different. I feel if they “find” out to early, they might anticipate things before they are supposed to or before they need to be thinking about stuff like this. You’ll know when the times right for her and you know her better than the school does.

    Reply
  2. Joy ~ Thanks for spoiling my fun!
    I totally agree with you on the fact that the “you’ll know when the time is right for her.” I think in talking with some of the other parents, they feel the same way as I do. I think it helps them a little knowing that their child will not be the only one sitting out.

    Reply
  3. uhh yeah is that the same video that while they are showing them “the talk” they also show them how to put a condom on a banana? I’m not even kidding. Yep both my kids missed out on that talk..when you homeschool you also get to decide how and when.

    Reply
  4. Javajunkee ~ I am pretty sure our Catholic School doesn’t use the same video! Now our public schools… I know for a fact that they use those videos.
    We homeschooled my oldest daughter for half of 7th grade and all of 8th grade. Then she got smarter than us so we put her back into public school. So far she is doing good. The High school she goes to is new. When she started as a freshman they only had 9th & 10th grade. This made things so much easier!

    Reply
  5. I’m glad your daughter showed you appreciation for your parenting. A pat on the back always feels pretty good, doesn’t it? (And sometimes even confusing, LOL.)

    Reply
  6. LOL.. I agree she’ll return now and then.. I had my lovely cycle show up long before 7th grade.. I remember my dad trying to have the talk with my sister and I and us laughing non stop at him forever. Even my mom was giggling. It was hilarious. I can still recall the look on his face!

    Reply
  7. Mrs V ~ Yes I was very confused by her pat on the back!

    Tosha ~ I have a strict rule that my husband is not allowed to talk of female things to the girls. He would just muck everything up for me! 🙂

    Reply
  8. Wow, how nice to have your daughter commend you on a parenting tacitc well done! I always assumed I’ve got my fingers crossed for a thankless job.

    I think it’s pretty rad that you took matters into your own hands, I think far too many people just assume that school will do the trick instead of looking at what the actual curriculum is. My school may have been different, but they sort of eased us into it until one day I knew all about it and didn’t remember even learning!

    Reply
  9. Emerald ~ Thanks for stopping in. I have been lurking at your site for awhile. I guess now I will have to de-lurk myself! 🙂
    As for a thankless job, I do not have one of those. Every morning when my girls walk down the stairs and give me a hug is all the thanks I need!
    You know what they say about when you assume something? It makes an ass out of u and me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

