It’s Hard Being A Blonde!


Sometimes my kids just make my head hurt! Not in a bad way, no just the opposite, in a funny way!

My 16 year old daughter, God bless her, is a blonde. She is not a dumb blonde at all. She does have her blonde moments and it is at those moments that my head just hurts!

A few weeks ago she was reading one of the Twilight books. I was sitting on the couch minding my own business when she came to me with her book and said, “I don’t get this. Can you read it and explain it to me?” I read the paragraph in question and just started to laugh my butt off! The paragraph in question had a blonde joke in it that she didn’t get at all. The joke was: How do you drown a blonde? You put a mirror at the bottom of a pool.

Yesterday we had another “moment” at the library. We both like reading about haunted places and there was a book on display called The Ghosts of the White House. I pointed it out to her and she went and picked it up and thumbed through it. She placed the book down and said: “No, I don’t want that, it’s all about dead people!” I of course had to reply with: “Well no shit, Sherlock! It’s about ghosts and last time I checked they were all dead!” At this point we had the librarian laughing!

My 9 year old daughter was born with blonde hair but by the age of 5 it turned brown like mine. She made this comment the other day in the car: “I must have gotten smarter in Pre-K because that’s when my hair turned brown!” I almost had to pull over I was laughing so hard!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. OH MY!! That last one REALLY got me! Kids say the funniest things!

    Reply
  2. This is great. I “pay” for my blond hair but even before it “turned” blond, I had MANY of those moments!!! I love the way you talk to your kids. Your so real and honest with them.

    Reply
  3. gotta love the blondes right? I was born blonde….I’ve tried hair dye and all kinds of stuff but once a blonde always a blonde. I can get out of all kinds of shit just by being a blonde! 🙂

    I love the ghost story! That would have been my response too…love the no shit sherlock!

    Reply
  4. Javajunkee ~ my daughter attempts to get out of stuff too just because she’s a blonde. Good thing I am a brunette and I am on to her! 🙂

    Reply
  5. so I’m blonde..and I can use that as an excuse for pulling a dumbass moment…just like I can get out of getting crap off a tall shelf cuz I’m short! 🙂
    Gotta make it work for us right?

    Reply
  6. HeeHeeHee! We have two blondes and two brunettes in this house. We ALL razz each other.

    Reply
  7. My oldest (who is 9 now) should have been a blonde. As she gets older her hair gets darker (like mine did) but she should have been a blonde. She makes my head hurt often.. I just shake my head.. Over and over and over again

    Reply

Leave a Reply

