I Am Not A Butthead!


It has been 2 years today since I stopped being a butthead! At least physically. I am still working on the mental part!

I grew up in a house with 2 very heavy smokers. There were many times that I had to put out my mom’s cigarette after she had fallen asleep on the couch. They even had ashtrays in the bathrooms! I swore up and down as a young kid that I would never, ever smoke.

Well somehow that grand idea changed when I was 15. It was not due to peer pressure either. My friends hated me smoking and I even had one friend who would knock my cigarette out of my mouth if I smoked around her!

I started out slow. A pack of cigarettes would last me for a week. My mom didn’t find out that I smoked until I was 16.  We were living in Connecticut at the time and we were snowbound for a day. My mother was running out of cigarettes and frankly I got tired of listening to her bitch about it so I threw her a pack of my cigarettes to shut her up. Once I was out of the closet I started smoking more and more and thus began my 3 pack a day habit!

My mom had a stroke and died at 65 and my dad died of Emphysema at 66. Both death certificates state that cigarettes contributed to their deaths. It finally occurred to me almost a year after my dad passed away that I did not want my death certificate to read the same way.

I quit cold turkey! Twenty years of smoking at least a pack a day stopped in a day. I actually spent the first day sleeping. I slept for 21 hours straight! This was the easiest way not to kill anyone!

I still wake up in the morning and actually crave a cigarette and my husband still smokes so they are here if I want one. I even still like the smell of cigarette smoke! I figure we just can’t afford the $4,368 a year for me to start back up!

Man, do I wish I had the $87,360 I smoked away over the years!

 

*Dollar amounts are based on a 3 pack a day habit at a cost of $4.00 a pack. These figures do not include doctor visits, extra dental cleanings, or increased health and life insurance rates.    

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Visiting via Joan Harvest’s blog.

    GO YOU !!!!!!!!

    I am smoke free 5 years, so easy to start, and many quit times until the last one.

    And to still be around smokers and not smoke. Power to you.

    Reply
  2. Widdle Shamrock ~ Thanks for stopping in and for leaving a comment. Congrats to you on your 5 years of no smoking!

    Reply
  3. Thats wonderful. I quit over 3 years ago. They’ve gone up over 4$ a pack now.. its unreal. Congratulations on quitting!~

    Reply
  4. I am so happy for you. How I wish I would quit. I really hope I want to someday soon. Fact is, I don’t want to so if I try, I don’t think it’ll work. La, la, la about the money it’s costing me…la, la, la……

    Reply
  5. My friends who smoke and have tried to quit say it is very hard, but they try and give it their best. Some make it, others surrender! Good Luck!

    Reply
  6. You GO, girl! Now to get your hubby to see the light…

    Reply
  7. Thank you all!

    Kelly ~ My hubby sees the light, every time he lights up a cigarette! 🙂 Seriously, I don’t even know why he smokes, he only has 3 a day.

    Joy ~ I was like you for years. I liked to smoke. I tried quitting many times but it was never becasue I wanted to. This last time it was for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

