A Day To Remember


My girls have a different school schedule because my youngest goes to a Catholic school and my oldest goes to a public school. Yesterday my youngest daughter had the day off and my oldest did not.

My youngest daughter asked me what we were going to do and I told her I didn’t have any plans. She looked all sad and gloomy and gave me the “Puppy Dog Eyes.” Man, I hate it when she does that!

I told her to figure out something for us to do but there was a catch, it could not involve spending any money. She took off for about 15 minutes and came back and asked me if we could go to a park and have a picnic.

What a great idea! We are very lucky to have a ton of parks around us to choose from. She picked a park within 5 minutes of our house that has a great walking trail around a little pond.

We packed a lunch, brought her kite and took off for the park. We had the park all to ourselves! The first thing we did was eat. Then we flew her kite for a little bit. I always forget how much fun it is to fly a kite! We played a mean game of tag, and let me tell you it gets harder to play tag when they can start to out run you!

I told my daughter I needed to slow the pace down just a little bit, so we took off on a walk around the pond. Years ago we used to fish this little pond but the grass has taken it over and due to not enough rainfall it is very low on water.

There was a huge log that went from the edge of the pond to the middle. My little one dared me to walk the log! Now most intelligent moms would have said no. Apparently I am not very intelligent!

I walked the log! I did an awesome job. I made it out to the middle of the pond with no problem. It was on the return journey that I ended up with a problem! My dear, sweet, angel was at the end of the log threatening to make it move! Well it ended up not being a threat and it moved and I of course fell into the water!

There I was sitting in about 2 feet of water soaking wet! She was laughing her but off at me so I decided to ask her to come out and help me. She got to where I was, all nice and dry, so I reached out my hand to her and pulled her in! That will teach her to laugh at me!

Ah, a day to remember!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I hope you don’t live in a cold part of the country. That was a charming little story.

    Reply
  2. This is awesome. I loved it. I also love to fly kites. They are fun. One day we were all out doing it and it got so high up we reeled in forever!!!

    I can’t believe you both ended up in the water. That is freaking hilarious. I’m glad you both ended up laughing. What a great way to spend the day.

    Reply
  3. Davis ~ Lucky for us we live in warm weather!

    Joy ~ We had a great day! There is nothing like one on one time with your kiddos!

    Reply
  4. I LOVE that you soaked each other! What a fun memory–she did a good job picking something to do. 😀

    Reply
  5. I think it is great that you both ended up in the water. It sounds like the kind of day you will both remember in 20 years and tell the story to everyone at Christmas. I love those great times with the kids.

    Reply
  6. I was picturing all of this happening as you told this story! It was funny-)* What a memory you will have, forever! Your daughter is lucky to have such a “cool” mom! Most moms would have screamed! Hope your life remains one big adventure after another!

    Reply
  7. Kelly ~ She usually finds fun stuff for us to do. She is my little mini-me!

    Joan ~ Glad to see ya back! 🙂

    Doraz ~ I’m glad you think I’m a “cool” mom, maybe you should talk to my kids. They think I am embarrasing! 🙂

    Reply
  8. Sounds like you had a really fun day. Days like that last forever.

    We have been doing the, you can do anything if it’s Free, approach to entertainment for a while now. It’s surprising how much is out there when you look 🙂

    Reply
  9. What a lovely way to spend a “free” day. I’m glad it is warm where you are. A picnic would not be possible here today, it’s in the teens and the windchill makes it even colder. Yuck…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

