Tales From The Sea


Last Friday, my husband and I decided to say the hell with everything and we took our boat out on the bay. Yes, it was cold and yes, it was windy! Despite the weather we managed to bring home 4 trout for dinner.

While we were fishing in one of our regular spots another boater appeared. This guy was in a boat similar to the one above except it had a small motor on it. His fishing partner for the day was his trusty dog.

This guy dropped his anchor and started fishing, no big deal. About 15 minutes later he decides to pull up his anchor to leave. Now we have a big deal, his anchor is stuck! He turns on his motor and tries to move, but remember the anchor is stuck! He turns off the motor and goes back up to the front of the boat. The dog is standing there looking down at the anchor and then looking at his owner. The guy turns to his dog and says: “You know this is all your fault!”

He struggled with the anchor for about 10 more minutes with no luck at all. He decided to untie the anchor from the boat. He tied a life vest onto the rope so it would mark the spot. He then turned to his dog and said: “I sure hope you can swim!”

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Hope those water dogs can survive the cold, and hope you enjoyed your trout. Or is that trouts?

    Reply
  2. It looks to me like you got a good life experience to write about after your trip! Glad the weather was doable! The trout sounds delicious. I love fish! You are lucky to be able to go on these trips with your boat! Happy sailing!

    Reply
  3. Hahaha awesome. I wish it was warm enough to fish here!

    Reply
  4. That is so funny. I eat a lot of fish but all saltwater. I have never eaten freshwater trout. How did you cook it?

    Reply
    • Joan ~ Our trout is saltwater as well. The Gulf of Mexico and even our bays are all saltwater. I put down a layer of onions in a glass pan, place the trout on top. Season it with salt, garlic and paprika and bake it in the oven on 425 degrees for 15 minutes or until done. We leave the skin on the fish so it doesn’t dry out while cooking. The skin is easy to remove after cooking.

      Reply
  5. This is great. I hope you can swim to the dog is hilarious. I love trout. It’s a lot like salmon isn’t it? I’ve always kept the skin on too. 65 degree’s sounds like heaven to me. I can only dream of that. It’s 20 here and this feels warm. It’s sunny so that’s always a good sign. You had another great weekend. I envy you.

    Reply
  6. Tony

     /  February 23, 2009

    Always blame the dog…
    Is it trout or troutii???
    P.S. I like your blog & have added you to my blogroll

    Reply
  7. A) jealous you have a boat.
    B) jealous you had trout for dinner.
    c) jealous it’s 65 degrees and your lakes aren’t covered in ice!!!

    I love that that guy blamed the dog. The dog always gets blamed!!!! Cute story!!!! I have never had trout before but I haven’t found a fish I don’t like yet. Well one that I’ve tried anyway. We eat a lot of perch and sunnies here. Walleye is my favorite!!

    Reply
  8. Tony, isn’t this a great blog! Glad to see ya here *(*….Everyone one my blogroll is FANTASTIC! Did you see the award I gave out to everyone?

    Reply
  9. I never thought to blame the dog for stuff. I may have to try that. Let see what can I blame her for? It’s hard she so cute and sweet . That was a cute story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

