Mardi Gras


Today is Mardi Gras or Fat Tuesday, which ever you prefer.

For us Catholics this is a celebration prior to the fasting season of Lent, which is the 40 days before Easter. During Lent we are supposed to give up something and we are to abstain from meat on Fridays.

This year I am giving up chocolate. Yes, you read that correctly! I am giving up chocolate! My youngest daughter is giving up candy and my oldest is giving up her after school eating binges. My husband never gives up anything. He thinks if he can abstain from meat on Fridays he has done well.

We always put in a rule that if we slip up we put a dollar in the Lent fund which we give to a charity. The charity is usually a Water Well program that my youngest daughter’s school participates in.

It looks like I will be celebrating Fat Tuesday by depleting my house of any chocolate. Wish me well!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Chocolate?? You are a brave women, actually I’d say your husband is a brave man!! When and I do often have a fit for chocolate I better at least have some cocoa in the cupboard! Good luck!!!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Just a Mom, I am Catholic, too. I am giving up pasta..all kinds, and I am going to continue with the “random act of kindness” I have been doing. It is so much fun seeing people smiling instead of crying! It is gonna be tough staying away from lasagna, but I WILL DO IT! Good Luck at your house! Chocolate is a tough one! Hope you do not go “crazy” without it. Then the kids will call you “Crazy Mom!”

    Reply
    • Ouch, giving up pasta! That is worse than giving up chocolate in my opinion!
      I agree with you on the good feeling you get from doing Random Acts of Kindness!

      Reply
  3. I’m not catholic and have never given up anything for lent so I applaud you. I really like the idea with the “slip up” jar and having it go to charity. It’s also good for them to know slipping up is okay and to just brush off and start again.

    Reply
  4. I’m giving up giving up crap! How’s that? 🙂

    good luck with that chocolate thing. I’m christian and giving up chocolate would mean somebody would get hurt bad here (especially this week) and that’s frowned upon in the christian community!

    Reply
  5. LOL java!!!

    Reply
  6. I’d give chocolate up before ANY carb!!! I kill people for less than that! Don’t take my pasta, potatoes, or bread!

    Reply
  7. Tony

     /  February 25, 2009

    Give up Chocolate???
    NOOOOOO!!!!!!!
    Isn’t thate in the Bible as a strict command somewhere; Thou shalt never cease the eating of Chocolate which I have given forth for the enjoyment of man sayeth the Lord.

    Reply
  8. Good luck! I did that a few years back and pretty much succeeded, except for a handful a trail mix that I absentmindedly ate and couldn’t figure out why it tasted so yummy. Then I realized it had chocolate in it!! Oops…

    This year I would like to lose 10 pounds and keep up with my gym membership. I’m also going to do some charity things with my mom for her church. Just try to live a little better, I guess, and hope (and pray) that it becomes a lifelong habit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

