Spring Cleaning


Yesterday afternoon we were homework free for a change. My youngest daughter decided it was just too nice to be inside. She went outside to ride her bike in our cul-de-sac. As usual, when one kid pops outside at least 3 or 4 more decide to pop out as well.

I ventured outside with my cup of coffee to be cul-de-sac traffic monitor. Little did I know I was going to have to give a lesson about the birds and the bees!

The kids were watching two morning doves doing their natural “Spring Time” thing on top of our fence. One of the younger kids of course had to ask: “What are they doing?” My daughter, knowing very well what they were doing, chirped in with: “Ya, Mom, What are they doing?” I gave her the evil eye and she just started laughing! Little shit!

I had all five kids, ranging from 5 to 9 years old, just looking up at me waiting for an answer. I looked them dead in the eye and told them: “They are just arguing over who has to do the Spring cleaning at their nest.”

I could hear my neighbor laughing her ass off in her backyard! I told her next time she is going to have to be cul-de-sac traffic monitor!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Funny stuff — thanks for the laugh.

    Reply
  2. Oh Thanks for the laugh!!! That was so funny. My husband just asked “What so funny honey, so I will have to scroll back up and read it to him. Thanks for sharing that .

    Reply
  3. You have such a quick wit JAM!! I am LMAO! I would have thought of that 6 hours after the fact. You kill me!!!

    Reply
  4. That reminds me of an old joke along those lines where there were two dogs doing much the same thing, when a son turns to his dad and says “What are they doing Dad?”

    The dad thinks quickly and says “The dog on the back has sore paws and the one at the front is giving him a piggy back home”

    To which the son replies … “It’s always the same, you try to do someone a favour and you end up getting screwed!”

    Reply
  5. Isn’t it fun coming up with these “stories” for the kids? I love how they just sit there looking at you…big eyes…for an explanation! You gave them one! LOL FUNNY! Have fun in your neighborhood! I am sure the kids all love you!

    Reply
  6. I am so glad that you guys get to have a good laugh at my expense! 🙂

    Reply
  7. JAM, how do you add the comment right under the person who made it? I love that.

    Reply
    • In your dashboard go to Settings, Discussion, in the section Other Comment Settings check the Enable threaded (nested) comments. Then you can choose from 1 to 10 comments to have threaded. I love this new option, it solves the just make a new reply or reply within a comment answer for me! 🙂

      Let me know if ya need more help.

      Reply
  8. Thanks, I’ll try it now.

    Reply
  9. Okay, I don’t get it. Where do I add the comment? Do I have to click “edit?”

    Reply
  10. I figured it out. Thanks JAM. That is an awesome feature.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

