Snap, Crackle, Pop! Rice Krispies


The dialogue below is from the Clint Eastwood movie Million Dollar Baby. Clint Eastwood plays boxing trainer Frankie Dunn and in this scene he is talking to a Catholic Priest. 

Father Horvak: What’s confusing you this week?
Frankie Dunn: Oh, it’s the same old “one God-three God” thing.
Father Horvak: Frankie, most people figure out by kindergarten it’s about faith.
Frankie Dunn: Is it sort of like Snap Crackle and Pop, all rolled into one big box?
Father Horvak:You’re standing outside my church, comparing God to Rice Krispies?
 

We love this movie and we just happened to watch it over the weekend. My youngest daughter laughs like crazy every time we see the above scene.

Wednesday, yes April 1st, I went to pick up my youngest daughter at school. Now remember she goes to a Catholic school. I was greeted at the front doors by the principal who pointed at me and gave me the come here sign with her finger.

Oh great! Now what!

I walked into the office and the 2 secretaries burst out laughing when they saw me. I walked into the principals office and sat down just waiting to see what had happened!

This was the conversation we had:

Principal: Your daughter is quite a character!
Me: What did she do now?
Principal: She has great organizational skills and is quite the leader as well!
Me: Please just tell me what she did.
Principal: Before her class went to lunch they were all saying their prayers and at the end of the prayer the entire class blessed themselves by saying “In the name of Snap, Crackle and Pop. Rice Krispies!”
Me: (laughing my ass off) I am sooo sorry!
Principal: In all my years at this school this has got to be the funniest thing that has happened! 

Apparently my daughter got all of the kids in her class to do this as an April Fool’s Day prank! My little imp is very lucky that her teacher and her principal found it funny! She got off with no punishment and was told by her religion teacher that it would probably be a good idea to go to Confession for what she did. I just hope our priest doesn’t laugh too hard!

snap.jpg image by quirkyjessi

 
Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Great, great post. I had no idea where you were going with this right up until the end. Simply priceless!! OMG, I thought i was going to wet myself with the pointing at you and giving you the “come here” signal!! LOL!!!

    I do have to point one thing out though…she is a regular chip off the old block!! You have taught her very well. LMAO!!!

    Reply
  2. I love to see families who can keep a sense of humor in any situation. This was a very uplifting story! Thanks for sharing it!

    Reply
    • The family who laughs together must surely get commited together, right? We wouldn’t want to break up the family unit! 🙂

      Reply
  3. I think humor is genetic. Going to my own family Reunion found out that my cousins had a strange and twisted humor as myself. Right then I realized that maybe a certain type of humor could be genetic. I usually blame my humor on my father especially when it gets me into trouble.

    Reply
    • I got my funny bone from my mom and her family. I’m just glad to be able to carry on the tradition.

      Reply
  4. Awesome! That could have been s scene from a movie in itself. That is hilarious. I love a good sense of humor.

    Reply
  5. OMG, if I ever saw a principal flagging me down, I’d die! LOL! Oh, your daughter is a total hoot! I’ll have to re-watch that movie, it’s been a long time and I have a tendency to completely forget a movie after I watch it 😉

    Reply
  6. that is too flipping funny. Don’t you just love kids!!!

    I love that Roseanne episode where she gets called into talk to one of Darlenes teachers and she’s complaining that Darlene barks in class. Roseanne of course asks her what the problem is…the whole family barks.

    Reply
  7. Great story! I’m glad the principal saw the humor in it too. 🙂

    Reply
  8. Hilarious, I’d love to have been there.
    Confession seems a bit harsh though….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

