Question Of The Week


Question of the week: Do you say “I love you” to your family?

 

I say “I Love You” all the time to everyone in my family. Whenever someone in my family goes somewhere or if I am ending a phone call they always get an “I Love Ya” from me. I have done this ever since I was I kid, I guess it is how I was raised. My kids, no matter how old they are, get an “I Love Ya” every time I drop them off at school and to be honest I think they like it when I do.

What brought this to my attention was the other day my husband was talking to his mom on the phone and he said goodbye to her and then hung up. I don’t think I have ever heard his side of the family say “I Love You” to each other. He has no problem saying it to me or our kids but I have never heard him say it to his parents or sisters.

I know for a fact that the last thing I told my mom when she passed away was “I Love Ya” and I feel better for knowing that.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I a big sayer of I Love You. I don’t do it as much to my grown boys but I still use pet phrases that I gave each of them years ago. My husbands family never said it either. I think it’s a thing of what you grew up with. Some people just have a hard time saying it.

    Reply
  2. I verbally say it and I show it often!!!!

    Reply
  3. I say it to my wife and kids daily! Growing up, “I love you” wasn’t thrown around a lot and still not used. I was with my dad when he passed away and the last thing I said do him was “Dad, I love you and you were the best father anyone could ask for”.

    I’m tearing up now.

    Reply
  4. I say “I love you.” to my wife all the time but not so much to the rest of my family. It is weird, if I don’t say it to my wife, or hear it from my wife I feel like something missing….not so much anyone else.

    Reply
  5. P.S. I put your blog on my blogroll if you are OK with that.It is at http://www.soupalaxy.wordpress.com. Thanks, I will stop filling up your comments section now, LOL.

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping in and leaving a comment here at my little blog. Feel free to leave as many comments as ya like!

      Reply
  6. and I am opposite of Eric…I say it to my kids but my husband and I are not at the ” I love you” stage of marriage right now. I would almost be lying if I said..” I tolerate you.”

    Reply
  7. Tony

     /  May 2, 2009

    Yes often

    Reply
  8. Tosha

     /  May 3, 2009

    I always make sure to tell my kids I love them. They are at that “its so uncool mom” stage though but I still tell them. When I lost my brother 10 years ago there was so much I wish I’d had more time to tell him. He was only 3 so alot of it he would have never understood but still the point is the same. I’m going to make sure my kids know I love them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

