Question Of The Week


Question of the week: Who taught you how to drive and how old were you?

 

My mother taught me how to drive when I was 9 years old. I drove around for years in my teens with no license because we could not afford driver’s ed. I got my license when I was 18. My brother gave me his car when he went into the Navy and nobody would teach me how to drive a stick shift so I went to the library and got a book that explained how and then I hopped into my car and took off.

Being that I am cheap, apparently I learned from my parents, my oldest daughter has not yet gotten her driver’s license. I recently found out that the State of Texas has a Parent Taught Driver’s Education program. The cost is only $25 for a teaching permit. Upon finding this program I signed up and I will be teaching my 16 year old how to drive this summer.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I was similar to you JAM. I was taught to drive at a very early age. I spent summers on my grandparents farm and we were all just taught to drive in case we ever really were needed to help out. But I didn’t get my license until I was 20. I have no idea why. It might have just been that the word “test” scared me so I just never went.

    My boys learned drivers ed in school. It didn’t cost anything then and they had to log in drivers miles and we went to Sears. I don’t remember the cost but it couldn’t have been to much. This driving stuff has really changed the last few years so I’m not sure what’s what anymore.

    Reply
    • Our school doesn’t have driver’s ed due to the fear of being sued. Local driver’s ed will run about $300 which I refuse to pay.

      Reply
  2. Wow 25 dollars what a deal. Could be a little stressful but a good price. When I learned to drive I went to a driving school. I was out on my own and needed to learn to drive so I could go to work. I bought a 56 vw bug it was so cute they did not teach me how to drive a stick in school only automatic. I bought the car and had to work the next day jumped in and I don’t know how I did it but I got to work I remember getting stuck on a hill and feeling very stressed out but it didn’t take long and I was zooming around. I hope the lessons go well.

    Reply
  3. Ok, I just have to say that you were an intriguing young lady to TEACH YOURSELF TO DRIVE STICK! Fabulous! I learned at Drivers Ed and from my my mom. After that, a lot I just learned on my own- nothing like the open road to really learn how to drive 😉 Those were wonderful memories!!! Very good question!

    Reply
  4. My mom taught me how to drive when I was 17. I taught my daughter. It seems my son learned on his own from friends. Evidently when he was 14 or 15 he used to climb out his bedroom window and go driving around town with some kid who was 16 and had a license. He could even drive a stick. Of course, I didn’t find out about this until many years later. The older kid must have been a good driver because my son is a great driver.

    Reply
  5. I learned how to drive a tractor at a young age. My parents taught me how to drive a car when I was 16. I got my license at 17.

    Reply
  6. I think my dad was the one who had more of a hand in teaching me to drive. I scared my mom.

    I drove for years without a license too because I refused to go “drive” with the bitches (they were too) at the DOT. I finally got my license at age like 23? DOT got new people and I drove with a really nice dude.
    I am really really surprised I never got busted.

    My son learned to drive on a rider mower. He would be our best driver probably but he’s 17 and has no desire to drive ! SIGH!

    Reply
  7. My dad started teaching me how to drive when I was 14. He would take me out to old country roads and let me drive.

    My step son is in driver’s education right now through his high school and it was only $50.00 and $20.00 for his learners permit.

    Reply
  8. Eric Richardville

     /  May 9, 2009

    My dad. I didn’t learn how to drive until I was like 17 1/2 though. You can tell that I was real popular huh.

    Reply
  9. Tosha

     /  May 22, 2009

    I was 15 when my dad attempted to teach me..but I really learned it all in drivers ed ..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

