It’s Summertime Again


It’s that time of year again… Summertime! If you are a mom you know this summertime math equation: no school + kids = I’m bored!

I experienced the I’m Bored cry this weekend! The first weekend with no more school and they are already starting in, I couldn’t believe it!

I made several suggestions which I thought were pretty good, myself.

  • Go to the pool
  • Wash my car
  • Go blow bubbles
  • Go draw a crime scene on the sidewalk with chalk
  • Go start a game of kickball in the cul-de-sac
  • Have a Lemonade sale
  • Get a job

They did nothing! All weekend they did nothing but watch television and cry out their little I’m Bored battle cry. When does school start?

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I LOVE IT!
    So true!
    You can not seem to win with kids, some days!
    I am sure you all will be having fun.
    It is an adjustment time…then explosion of fun!
    🙂

    Reply
  2. LOL Oh poor kids! Funny list, draw a crime scene, my favorite. The idea of fun, will hopefully kick in how about Camping? Misquotes, sunburn,gnats,good distraction.LOL Hang in there Mom!;+)

    Reply
  3. don’t forget the pat answer I always got from my mother — chores!

    Reply
  4. I can’t believe they’d start in on this this soon. Wow! I loved the draw crime scene!! Great idea. I’ll try that one when I get the “I’m bored” later during the summer. I’m sure I won’t get this one for a while. It kind of makes me sad in a way. How could a kid possibly be bored this soon? My mom always used to say if you can’t find something to do, I will find something for you to do and let me tell you, we took off.

    Reply
  5. My youngest one cried “I’m Bored” today because the public school kids still have this week to go in school so there is nobody around except her.
    After I told her that her teacher gave me a math book for us to do work in over the summer she amazingly found something to do! Imagine that!

    Reply
  6. Our neighborhood kids love to lay in the Cul-de-sac and draw Crime Scenes of themselves. Then they play detective and try to figure out how each other died!
    I don’t know where they learn these warped things from! Couldn’t be me, no of course not! 🙄

    Reply
    • Oh NOOOO! NEVER!!! All kidding aside, I think it’s a great thing to do.

      Reply
  7. Looks like you’re in for the long haul. Our vacation starts on Thursday. I love the whole “I’ll give you something to do idea”. I think it’s about time my kids learn to mop 🙂

    Reply
  8. AHHH. I can remember yelling out those very words to the point that I thought my mother was going to kill me.

    Reply
  9. Tosha

     /  June 3, 2009

    Mine started in too this weekend. For the most part it was just Cole.. As the girls were gone for the weekend.. But still.. I’m bored played a major roll in his life this weekend b/c he wanted to be where the big guys were and hubs and his buddy camped out on my couch all weekend watching tv.. UGH! Not only do I have it from the kids right now but hubs and his buddies too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

