Question Of The Week


Question of the week: When you die, do you want to be buried or cremated? Do you want a big service or just a small one?

In the past year I have been to way too many funerals for my liking. But it has made me step back and think about what I would like to have happen when my time comes.

My mother was very adamant about being cremated and having her ashes spread out by Block Island. I honored that wish, kinda, sorta. We had her cremated but we spread her ashes in New London. I figured she could swim the rest of the way. She would have been laughing right along with me!

My father planned his entire funeral himself. Mainly because none of his kids were talking to him! He had made plans to have his body flown to New Hampshire and he was buried next to his father. He picked out his own casket and headstone. He planned a graveside service and even had military honors planned out.

I have told my kids and husband that I want to be cremated and have my ashes spread by the beach. They can plan the rest. If they want a Mass or a big service for themselves then they can go for it!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Interesting question. I used to say, “200 years after my death, I don’t want some archeologist putting what’s left of me in a museum to show what they uncovered of our civilizaation – just cremate me.” Now, six months past my fathers funeral I’m not so sure. Now that the subject has hit closer to home I’m not as settled about the whole thing. As for a service, if anyone’s around to notice that I’m not – they can do as they see fit.

    Lol about your mom swimming the rest of the way. I’m sure she would be laughing too. My dad had military honors also and it was one of my favorite parts of the whole funeral.

    Reply
  2. Wow nice coffins I’ll take the light blue green one with the sun on it. Oh wait I think I want to be cremated. It’s a tough decision for a Wednesday. I guess I don’t really care where I’m scattered just don’t keep me in the trunk of the car. Boy that’s a long story, I should get into some day. I don’t really want a funeral what if hardly anyone comes. Just a couple tweets from Blogger’s oh that would be sad. I appreciate your candid discussion and bring up the topic. I am grateful to be alive today!

    Reply
  3. I never wanted to be buried. YUCK! The thought of things eating me, dead or alive puts me over the edge. Both of my parents as well as Paul and I want to be cremated and have our ashes scattered out on our “big hill.” My great aunt is there as well as my uncle/godfather. I know this land will stay in our family and it’s a nice feeling. I walk up there and really think of them. I also don’t want a funeral. I just want a gathering of whoever is involved, wants there. I want a boom box booming songs I loved. We always each have a flower of some kind, I buy a variety and after the ashes have been scattered, everyone throws the flowers.

    It seems happy to me and not sad. Terrific questions JAM.

    Reply
    • I know what you mean. As I get older the thought of death for some reason or another does not bother me. Strange, I know.

      Reply
  4. I want to be buried. I also would like there to be a big service but one that is like a party. I want people to have fun and celebrate my life.

    Reply
  5. I want to be buried. I wrote a post once and put a photo of the coffin I want. It’s pine and I love it. I don’t want a big service but I do want a party and I’m in the process of picking out the music, mostly rock. I also want to be buried either near my parents or near where Sarah thinks she might be. The thing is I plan on being a ghost so I will be at the party. I’m not sure if you get cremated you can be a ghost so not wanting to take chances I’ll be buried. Screw the white light!!

    Reply
  6. Well, I am not in the right mood to answer this question, so I promise to come back as soon as I have an answer! Can I be cryofrozen?~~~~~

    Reply
  7. Tosha

     /  June 4, 2009

    I want to be cremated. Problem is my family does not agree at all. They are all kinds of against it.. But its what I want 100%. I don’t want any kind of service but i doubt they’ll accept that too.. so i’ll probably end up being buried and having a huge service b/c its not what i want and they are all about annoying me.

    Reply
  8. I tend to lean towards being cremated, that way I’m taking up less space, LOL. 🙂 Hubby and I have discussed this, but it makes me think we should discuss it again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

