A Good Little Sailor


Last week my husband, my youngest daughter and I went out fishing on our boat for the day. My oldest daughter claimed she was sick so we let her stay home.

I was not having much luck at catching any keepers. At one point my husband had two keepers in the box and I had zip, Nada, nothing. It was hot and I was getting down right pissed off! My sailor’s mouth was starting to kick in!

My husband hooked another fish and when he started reeling it in I mouthed off, “I suppose you want me to get the damn net again!”

Out of nowhere my youngest daughter, who had been chilling out listening to her music and playing with the live shrimp for most of the day, chimed in with, “Damn it! He got another one! What the hell kind of fish is it this time?”

My husband and I looked at each other and just cracked up!

I guess we are raising a good little sailor! 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. sandysays1

     /  June 23, 2009

    Some old bromides that apply. Monkey see, monkey do. Little pitchers have big ears. Emulation is the greatest form of flattery. et al Speech patterns sometimes foreshadow furure careers. Who knows, your little daughter maybe the first female NFL linebacker.

    Sandy
    Visit me at http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • It would be just fine if she became the first female NFL linebacker, just as long as she played for the Cowboys! I am sure her mouth would fit right in there! 🙂

      Reply
  2. LOL. That is hilarious. I guess you just never know what will come out of the mouths of children. My niece and nephew say some of the funniest things. I don’t know where it comes from. I was never smart enough to even think the things they say.

    Reply
  3. Just a Mom, I really feel happy when I hear stories of families spending quality time together. You have a keen eye for family life. I wish you the very best for the summer, with all of your challenges. You will do it, cause that is who you are! Hope we get a peek or two of you this summer…. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks for the comment Doraz! Have no fear Super Mom is here! (I need to find myself a cape! But it has to be purple one! 🙂 )

      Reply
  4. I think purple would be a good color on ya!
    Have fun looking!
    🙂
    Charge~~~~

    Reply
  5. This is so funny. When things like that just pop out, it’s so spontaneous that you can’t help but laugh.

    Reply
  6. LOL Kids are so funny. And it’s really hard not to laugh when they parrot some of the things adults say.;+)

    Reply
  7. LOL at least you know she’s listening to you!

    Reply
  8. LOL! The things our kids say!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

