It’s Only A Game


In my family we are very competitive. When we play games we play to win! There is no such thing as letting someone win, not even the kids. They must learn from experience and master whatever it is they are playing on their own.

With all that being said, I AM PISSED! For the first time as a mother one of my kids beat me at miniature golf. It couldn’t even be the oldest one either, NO, it had to be my youngest daughter. Sure, go ahead and rub salt into the wound!

My youngest daughter was all excited when we went to our favorite mini-golf course down in Galveston this past weekend because she got to play her favorite course. They have two courses there, The Ocean Side and the Jungle Side. We normally play the Jungle Side but because it was so hot we decided to play the Ocean Side and take advantage of the sea breeze.

I knew it was going to be a tough day when on the first hole I started pulling my ball to the left for a score of 4 and she made a hole in one! I did not let that dampen my spirit at all and I came back from that with a few hole in ones myself. She was a child on a mission and just flat out scored me. She beat me by 3 strokes!

The worse part was we had money on the line and I had to pay her a dollar! When I paid up to the little mob queen she looked me straight in the eyes and said, “Nice doing business with you and just remember Mom, It’s only a game!”

Oh, shut up! Damn kid!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Now remember Mom. Out of the mouths of babes. ;+) funny little Mob queen..

    Reply
  2. I totally believe the same thing about kids and games. When I was growing up I was the youngest and never won, but I was so determined to get better so I could win. And when the day came that I beat my mom, I was so proud that all my hard work had paid off.
    I play a lot of games with kids because I’m a teacher and it is something that I have to teach them, they don’t win just because. They actually have to WIN!

    Reply
    • Yeah let me tell you, my little mob queen is really proud that she beat me!
      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

      Reply
  3. LOL! Little Mob Queen. How funny. She was probably just thrilled to win. I love to play games but I’m not really that hung up on winning. I just like to play. My husband and I play Wii bowling every night for an hour or so while we watch the news and I have to say, I don’t like winning all the time. It’s not as fun for me for some reason.

    FORE!

    Reply
  4. LOL! I love it. This business woman has spunk 🙂 We enjoy mini golf, but don’t make enough effort to go and play. I’m gonna have to look for a place in Austin. I think I should start off with date nite at the course.

    Reply
  5. I just hate it when people who win at a game just go on and on about it, especially if I am the loser! Have fun winning! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

