Do You Know What Your Kid Is Watching?


Last Friday afternoon my oldest daughter, who is now 17, was laying on our couch watching MTV. Normally I have that channeled blocked on the living room TV because I do not want my younger daughter watching it but since she was gone I unblocked it. I decided to sit down and have a look see to what was going on with the old MTV channel.

My daughter was watching a show by the name of 16 and Pregnant. Honestly I was sickened by this show. I watched maybe 15 minutes and I made her turn the crap off. The episode I saw had a very pregnant 16 year old shopping with her mom for a prom dress. I am sorry, 16 + pregnant = NO PROM in my little world. What is wrong with some of these parents?

The only good thing I have to say about this show is that I was able to ask my daughter what her opinion on teen pregnancy was. I was glad to hear that she wants no part of it. At least she is smart enough to tell me what I want to hear! One of her friends already had a pregnancy scare this summer and from what I understand this friend was actually disappointed that she wasn’t pregnant!

Do you know what your kid is watching? Man, we have sure come along way from the good old days of Barney and Sesame Street!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. My kids do not like to watch TV. When they do, it is the discovery channel they like. We watch movies together, every Friday night. They are more into the computer and looking up things in their area of study! Lucky me, huh? 🙂

    Reply
  2. The other night my fiance saw 16 and Pregnant advertised on MTV and he nearly fainted, he still remembers when MTV was actually about music. I’m so glad my girls are now 22 and almost 21 (but believe me the drama never stops!) and I don’t have to fight over TV shows anymore (they unblocked shows as fast as I blocked them).
    BTW I found you at Joan Harvest (is she a scream or what? and I have to say that CandyLand was one of my most favorite games as a child!

    Reply
    • My kiddos haven’t figured out my code yet but I change it every other week to prevent them from figuring it out. Hey ya gotta fight fire with fire!
      Thanks for stopping in Laura. It’s always nice to meet new people. I love Joan to pieces! Candyland was fun the first 1000 time I played it but now it just gives me nightmares! If I play it now I have this dream that I keep getting stuck in the molasses swamp and the gingerbread men just keep laughing at me! 🙂

      Reply
  3. My kids are also grown but now I have to worry about my grandchildren. I’m appalled by some of the stuff on “regular” TV and I think it’s gone way to far. The language and the content is beyond me. As far as I’m concerned, anyone under 12 shouldn’t even watch television shows that are on after 7.

    I do think it was a good opportunity to talk to your daughter though. At least you have open communication with her and she will come to you if she ever needs to.

    Reply
    • I totally agree that kids shouldn’t be watching some of the shows that are on at 7. Wasn’t 7 to 8 supposed to be family viewing time? Man do I miss those days!

      Reply
  4. I’m lucky that most of that crap wasn’t on when my daughter was a teen. She’s going to be a great mom. She won’t even have a TV in the living room. She doesn’t want Lilah to be a TV addict like me and I don’t blame her. Good for you for turning that dumbass stuff off.

    Reply
    • Good for your daughter! I hope she holds her ground on the TV thing.
      With the kids we usually watch the History channel, Discovery channel or just pop in a movie.

      Reply
  5. Wow, MTV sure has changed from when I was a teen! Back then they actually played MUSIC VIDEOS! LOL I have never seen or heard of this show but what a stupid ass thing to put on TV. ANYTHING to get people to watch I suppose. If we caught our kids watching it, we would ban the channel. Maybe we should anyway? Thanks for the heads up JAM! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Tosha

     /  July 22, 2009

    I have heard about that show.. its pretty appalling.. I know exactly what my kids are watching. I hate the tv and only allow them to watch certain channels and certain shows..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

