Good Old School Days


Today was like Christmas for me. I got to take my 10 year old shopping for school supplies! She was just as excited about it as I was. She goes back to school in just a week and a half! My 17 year old tagged along with us but I will take her shopping for clothes and school supplies probably in another week or so. She still has 3 weeks left before she goes back. 

We walked through aisles and aisles of new folders, notebooks, pens, crayons and markers. I could smell the aroma of wooden pencils the minute I walked through the front doors. It was just as glorious as walking into a coffee shop in the morning!

We had our 5th grade school supply list in one hand and pen in the other just waiting to mark off the items as they flew into the basket. And fly into the basket they did! We managed to fly $100 worth of school supplies into our basket! I must note that when I shop for school supplies I double up and keep a set of the needed stuff for the house as well. That way when it comes time for homework they have the same stuff available at home as they do at school.

Starting this week we are going to have to get our sleeping schedule back into school mode. Gone are the days of staying up to finish a movie and sleeping in the next morning. It is back to rise and shine at 6 in the morning for the little one. Crap, that means I have to go back to waking up at 5 in the morning! I guess it’s not too much of a sacrifice to pay for not having bored kiddos any more!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I used to just love back to school shopping too JAM. I love the smell of pencils and crayons. The down side to that was I had the summer’s off too since I worked at the school so getting my sleeping habits altered was a bit difficult at times. I’m so glad you had fun with daughter #2.

    Reply
  2. Oh, just seeing the picture of the crayola’s made me giddy 🙂 heeeheee! $100- for supplies for one child- holy shit! Girl, wowowowow! I think this year was the first time I didn’t need to buy so much as my twins are going into the 8th grade and a lot of the stuff they still had from last year- hardly used. Also, never before have I EVER gone to three different stores to get what they need but I got really great deals only buying what they were practically “giving away” – there is no way in hell I would pay $6- for a cube of post its- it’s crazy!

    The older I get, the cheaper I get 🙂

    You and I would have fun shopping for supplies, it’s my FAVORITE, although I’m more excited about it than anyone in the house!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

