Question Of The Week


Question of the week: Do you (or did you) ease your kids into the back to school schedule of waking up early in the morning or just let it come as a big shock come the first day of school? 

good-morning_33.gif image by dazzlejunction

My youngest daughter goes back to school next Thursday so here at my house we have started Back to School Boot-camp this week. This week I have started making my 10 year old go to bed 15 minutes earlier each night and waking up 15 minutes earlier. We are up to waking up at 7:30 right now and by next Thursday we need to be waking up at 6!

I can’t really control when the 17 year goes to bed anymore but I have invoked an “All is Quiet Upstairs” rule at 8:30pm. I have also started waking her up at the same time the younger one gets up. She goes back to school two weeks later than her little sister and she is pissed that I am waking her up so early.

I am finding it rather fun myself! This morning my youngest didn’t talk to me for an hour and the oldest one mumbled a few words under her breath and she better hope I don’t figure out what she said!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. You’re a good mom. I used to just shock the crap right out of them. I would yell at them as loud as I could “up, up, up, up, up) until they got up begging me to be quiet. I miss those days.

    Reply
    • My kiddos would probably throw something at me if I tried that method!
      My mom used to use a water gun to wake my brother up in the mornings. I loved watching her do that!

      Reply
  2. I did what you did but what Joan did sounds kind of funny! Leave it to you Joan!! But I also had to get myself back in the swing of things since I worked at the school and I had to get used to it too.

    Reply
  3. This morning I walked into my oldest daughter’s room and she sat up in her bed and looked me dead in the eye and said “Don’t you dare wake me up!” I laughed at her and said, “Alrighty, there blondie! If you are telling me not to wake you up then you must already be up!”
    When I went into my youngest daughter’s room I asked her if she slept good last night and her reply was, “I slept good until I woke up!” She’s not even a blonde so I am not sure what her excuse is!

    Reply
  4. My kids go back to school the last week of this month. It’s about this time of the year, when I proclaim to the house, “We have to start getting to bed earlier!”- then I turn to the husband for support and he usually looks at me like, “It’s no big deal” and then we don’t do it but end up regretting it. I commend you on doing this for your kids, it’s just going to make the transition much smoother!

    Reply
  5. joz1234

     /  August 8, 2009

    Funny! You are a nice mom to gently change their clocks…
    My mom would have just turned on the light and yelled, Jennifer, wake up! UGH!

    Reply
    • I am nice this week, just wait until the practice is over! 🙂
      Thanks for stopping in and leaving a comment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

