Question Of The Week


Question of the week: When do you plan dinner?

I have a bad habit of waking up in the morning and just staring into my fridge hoping something will pop out at me and say “Cook ME for dinner!”

I am going to try and start actually planning my meals. I have two fears with meal planning. The first fear is that once I post a meal plan then I am committed to it. My second fear is that if I post my meal plan nobody will show up for dinner!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I see you have the same stare into the fridge plan that I have. For years this is a topic I’ve struggled with. On the off chance that I make a plan, I get bored with it or don’t feel like eating that stuff and the plan disintegrates. I’ve tried making multiple meals and freezing some. I suppose this would work except that I don’t pack away the stuff before everyone sees it and they start picking at it and it gets finished before its scheduled day. So, in a nutshell, I make food that I hope people will like but don’t want them to eat it all because it’s supposed to last… and if it doesn’t last then I have to cook again. Insane isn’t it?

    Reply
  2. I just go with how I feel at the time I have to start worrying about it! It works for me. Take out is also easy! LOL 🙂

    Reply
  3. becausetheygrow

     /  September 16, 2009

    ok, i’m gonna sound a little crazy here but i actually sit down and make a menu and grocery list at the same time. i do it the day before i go grocery shopping and write the menu on a dry erase board for the fam to read. i usually incorporate a couple of toss in the oven meals for days that we are running late/appts, etc. i also leave one day for all the leftovers.

    sometimes i ask the kids what they want to see in next weeks rotation. i also re-use my grocery/menu lists : ) totally takes the brain work out of it. once i have four weeks worth, i rotate them til we get sick of the meal(s) then mix’em up again or add new recipes.

    ok, i think im a geek.

    Reply
    • When I grow up I want to be just like you! But, since I seem to have the Peter Pan Syndrome I will just have to rely on the hopes that fairies will one day plan all my meals for me! 🙂

      Reply
  4. I plan out meals about a week in advance. I make a shopping list for everything I need and get it all at the store usually on the weekend. I don’t break everything down to specific days, just 6 or 7 meals to choose from for the week. I choose what tomorrows dinner will be from the 6 to 7 meals in the freezer the night before. That way I can take the meat out to thaw. 🙂

    Works well for me anyway. 🙂

    Reply
    • That is kinda the way I plan: I buy a weeks worth of meat and then I hope that the meals will plan themselves around that.

      Reply
  5. The only time I really know what’s for dinner is when I’m dieting. Then, not only is it planned, but I’m practically cooking it at 3 in the afternoon.

    Reply
  6. MoodSwingMabel

     /  September 18, 2009

    SHOOOOOOOOOOOOT! I want to be the person that plans it out a week in advance. I want to grocery shop for it all at once and have my act together. BUT I DO NOT. I printed out a meal planning calendar last week and it’s still sitting in my backpack 😦 GOOD FOR YOU. I love this weekly one, where can I get one just like it?

    Reply
  7. Tosha

     /  September 18, 2009

    LOL!!!!!!!!! HA ha hahahahaha.. plan dinner? I think about being like that. It sounds wonderful in theory. It makes perfect sense in theory. BUT.. it just never happens like that. I have 2 be in the mood for what i’m fixing. if i plan it out. I never cook it. I’m a ‘oh this sounds good right now i’ll run 2 the store and pick up the stuff to make that” type person.. I do buy groceries weekly but end up making a few extra trips during the week. I can plan all day long. i can make lists and organize and all that good stuff but i NEVER go by the plan. Ever..

    Reply
  8. I came back to steal everybody’s good ideas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

