Baked Pork Chops In A Mushroom Sauce


Baked Pork Chops In A Mushroom Sauce

Mushroom Pork & Potato Bake 

Pork chops baked with potatoes in a creamy mushroom and onion sauce.

INGREDIENTS

  • 6 pork chops
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • garlic powder to taste
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 large onions, finely chopped
  • 1 to 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 large can of mushrooms or sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • 4 cups thinly sliced potatoes (You can leave skin on or remove)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Butter a 2 quart baking dish.
  2. Rub pork chops with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Melt butter in a skillet over medium-high heat, add chops, and brown on both sides. Remove from skillet. Place onions and garlic in skillet, and cook until browned. Add mushrooms and cook until done. Pour in mushroom soup and milk; stir until blended. Remove from heat, and set aside.
  3. Arrange sliced potatoes evenly in prepared baking dish. Arrange chops on top of potatoes. Pour soup mixture over chops.
  4. Bake, covered, for 30 minutes in the preheated oven. Uncover, and bake 30 minutes more, or until potatoes are tender.

Nutritional Information

Servings Per Recipe: 6
Amount Per Serving:
Calories: 339
Total Fat: 15.1g
Cholesterol: 52mg
Sodium: 1145mg
Total Carbs: 32.2g
Dietary Fiber: 2.9g
Protein: 18.9g

Notes: I am going to try this recipe with chicken breasts next time. I added the mushrooms and the garlic to this recipe. I used sliced portabella mushrooms and it was great!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I only have two things to say. YUM and I know what we’re having one day this weekend. How yummy with the spuds right in there like that. We also LOVE mushrooms.

    Thanks.

    Reply
  2. I really like mushrooms. The rest of my family doesn’t though. So I cut them really fine and flavor the sauce with them. As long as no one can see them, they’re happy.

    Reply
    • I think this would be good if you used a cream of potato or celery soup as well. If you used cream of celery you could dice up some celery and add it in there.

      Reply
  3. Tosha

     /  September 25, 2009

    now i’m hungry..

    It sounds good.. But I don’t eat the fungus.. I can not fathom putting a mushroom into my mouth.. cringe..

    Reply
  4. Do you have your own special cookbook with all of your special recipes? 🙂 You should!

    Reply
    • I think they call that plagiarism Luisa! All of the recipes I find online somewhere usually. But I do have a habit of tweaking them to my own taste.

      Reply
  5. Looks easy to make and sounds delicious! I’m gonna have to give this a try. Thanks for posting JAM!

    Reply
  6. Oh, that looks so good! All I’ve had to eat today is a Slim-Fast bar. 😛

    Reply
  7. This reminds me of my friend’s favorite chicken dish.
    Brown chicken pieces in 2 tbsp oil, add sliced onions, sautee till tender then add 1 can Cream of Celery soup. Cover tightly and cook over low heat for one hour or as long as three! (It gets better!) Yummy!

    I think I will add mushrooms to it next time though. That sounds like a great idea!

    Oh, serve with homemade mashed potatoes!

    Reply
  8. I’ve never met a pork chop that I liked. This sounds good though so maybe I should give it a try? My pork chops always turn out like SUGAR HONEY ICE TEA!

    Reply
    • LOL! I have tried this with chicken breasts and it came out just as good! You do have to cook the chicken for at leats 45 minutes if they are thicker they may take an hour.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

