Sick Day?!


Ah the joys of being unemployed a stay at home mom… I don’t have to dress up to impress the boss, I don’t have to worry about the break room gossip and I don’t have to worry about the government taking all those taxes out of my check!

The one thing I really miss is having sick days! Have you ever tried to take a sick day from being unemployed a stay at home mom? I swear it can’t be done!

All weekend long I muddled along trying not to give into the fact that I might be getting the crud! We had too busy of a weekend for me to be getting sick. We had our church/school bazaar and my oldest daughter had Homecoming! Being sick was not an option!

Monday comes around and when I woke up I was sick! My ears were throbbing and my throat was on fire! As Sponge Bob would say, “I have the suds!”

My youngest daughter had the day off from school but I still had to get up and get my oldest daughter out the door. She was feeling kind of sudsy herself. I managed to get her to school and I came home and landed my sick butt on the couch with my blankie! I declared to my husband who works from home and my youngest daughter that I was taking a sick day!

Sick day my Asteroids! After an hour and a half of school my oldest daughter called and said she was not feeling good and that I needed to go pick her up! I got my sick butt up and went to get her.

We got home and I tried to go back to my couch with my blankie. I had forgotten that I promised my youngest daughter to go costume shopping today. I hate breaking a promise! So I got my sick butt moving and out we went for a day of shopping!

Now it’s time to go make dinner… my throat is still sore and my ears are still throbbing! Maybe I can call in sick tomorrow!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I just love the cartoon and the great story you told! I can totally relate! You just need to say NO really loud and get some rest! If mom is down, the whole family suffers, right? Hope you are feeling better soon! Oh, try calling another mom…she will give you the day off! LOL 🙂

    Reply
  2. Problems grow further when you’re not even good at being unemployed. At least when you’re employed, you can quit or be fired. When you’re unemployed, no such luck.

    Reply
    • I keep trying to get fired but the kids and husband won’t let me!

      Thanks for stopping in and leaving a comment.

      Reply
  3. It sounds like you could use some help from your family members. Take care of yourself Heather and I hope you start feeling better real soon. 😀

    Reply
    • Thanks Gary, it seems like the ragweed hit me good this year!
      Help from family members… I think I dreamed about that once! 🙂

      Reply
  4. I’m sure hoping you’re feeling better. It really does suck to get sick when the kiddo’s are young. It’s like the family falls apart!!! WTH??

    Reply
  5. Feel better soon and try to get some rest. When I’m sick I think the kids are secretly glad because I don’t have the energy to say no to questions like “can I have some candy?”

    Reply
  6. You are such a sweet mom! To take her out costume shopping even though you were not feeling well at all, well- that’s just a darn good mom! I know what you mean! I hope you are feeling better!

    Reply
  7. Tasneem R

     /  November 11, 2009

    Awww…so sad ,in spite of calling in sick you had to move around …so did you call in sick the next day as you have mentioned in your post ? Hope you did . 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

