Sucker!


Do you hear that sucking noise? No, it’s not my vacuum cleaner running, although I really should give it a whirl around the house here soon! No, it’s the noise that follows me around when I get near my kids schools. They seem to suck me into everything lately. Don’t tell anyone but I actually like it!

This past week I got sucked into helping out at my youngest daughter’s Halloween Carnival. I was there from 8 in the morning until 3 in the afternoon! Our class ended up not having a game to run so I ended up helping out the other 5th grade class. It was a good thing I was there to help out because only one other mom showed up to help out for that class! I got to learn how to make popcorn in a real popcorn machine. We made and filled 500 bags of popcorn!!

I thought for sure I was going to have nightmares of this damn clown!

I think I got suckered into the popcorn deal because of Bad Karma! A few weeks ago my youngest daughter’s class went to a week-long Outdoor Learning School that was about an hour and half away from us. We had enough drivers for the trip up but not for the trip back. I ended up having to go pick up my daughter but I could not drive back any other kids because I don’t have my driving record on file with the school. Our class room mom also made the trip up there but she only wanted to get her daughter. They found out she had Driving Clearance and she ended up taking back 3 other kids. I kept walking past her and mumbling “Sucker” to her the whole time we were there! I couldn’t believe it, but right when we were about to leave I reached into my jacket pocket and I found a lollipop from our church bazaar the week before! I pulled it out and said, “Here you go a Sucker for a Sucker!”

She got me back Friday when I was leaving, she asked me if I wanted my Sucker back!

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I really missed when my kids got older and did not really want me to help out anymore at their schools! I am glad you have made many wonderful memories with your family! 🙂

    Reply
    • At what age does that happen?! My 17 year old loves it when I help out at her school!! Maybe it’s a girl thing!

      Reply
      • I have boys! High School. I WAS allowed to help out on the Cross County team booster club! 🙂

        Reply
  2. I helped like you, as long as I could. I loved it and so did my boys. I would have loved manning the popcorn machine. How much did you eat?? LOL!!! I’m really glad you had a good time.

    Reply
    • Joy ~ Were you spying on me?! I only had one little bag but I kept going to the table next to us and getting Coconut Snowcones! I had about 5 of those!

      Reply
  3. Helping out at school is fun. The last time I helped out it was to move and organize seven palets of frozen cookies that came in for the fund raiser. I’ll be looking for easier jobs next time. You’re not gonna offer me that sucker are you?

    Reply
  4. See how karma works, lol? Too funny. I used to work at a theatre, and filling that many bags is tough work, yikes! Glad you survived it! I got sucked into working in the school library every other week during my unemployment, call me sucker!

    Reply
  5. Well like “they” say, what comes around goes around. LOL

    I’m getting into the whole volunteering at the school stuff myself. When our older boys were in grade school, I was working full time job and didn’t have the time to volunteer at their school’s even though I really wanted too. Now that I am a stay at home dad, I have the time and our youngest started kindergarden this year. I let his teacher know I would help out whenever she needed assistance and last Friday I went to the school and helped the class with their Halloween party. I poured juice, had plate and fork duty…etc. I really had a good time and my son LOVED that fact that I was there. I can’t wait to do it again! 😀

    Reply
  6. Haha! You should have taken your sucker back. Who knows when it will come in handy again.

    500 bags of popcorn? Holy smokes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

