Sometimes Love Hurts


I spend a lot of time in the kitchen with my daughters. Sometimes they help, sometimes they just watch and talk to me about what’s going on in their lives.

This weekend I had the insane idea of making caramel apples. Now, back when I was a kid we used to buy a kit that had these caramel wraps and all you did was wrap the apple and stick a tongue depressor into it! Man those were the good old days!

I managed to find a kit to make caramel apples but you had to use the stove! We mixed the package with milk and sugar and brought the mixture up to 242 degrees! My youngest stuck the tongue depressors into the apple while my oldest daughter and I were stirring and taking the temperature of the boiling goo on the stove.

Once it got hot enough we dipped the apples into the goo.  I of course told both my 10-year-old and my 17-year-old to, “Be Careful! It’s very hot! It WILL burn the crap out of you!” The listened very well and they both managed to dip their apples into the hot caramel goo and walk away unharmed.

I however should have listened to my own advice! I dipped my apple into the boiling caramel goo, pulled it out, rolled it around and tried to let the excess goo drip back into the pan. Well guess what, it dripped right on my finger! I dropped my apple back into the goo and screamed! That crap sticks to anything it touches! Especially the flesh on your fingers!

I screamed to my oldest daughter to turn off the stove, remove the apple and get me some burn ointment as I held my poor index finger under cold water.

My oldest daughter managed to save my apple and my youngest daughter just laughed her ass off! I kid you not she was rolling on the floor in tears! I’m so glad I can be a source of humor for that child! Did I mention that she will probably not make it to eleven at her rate of laughing at me! 

The apples turned out yummy, my finger will be fine in a few days and I provided, however painful to me, a good memory for my kids!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Ouch!!! Glue guns and hot vats of caramel seem to be your nemesis. Hope that finger feels better soon. My oldest has been hinting about caramel apples every time we go to the grocery store. I guess I’m gonna have to try it out.

    Reply
  2. PS, it’s funny how we warn the kids to be careful yet we’re the ones who end up hurting ourselves.

    Reply
  3. You have me LMAO!!!! Sorry to laugh when you’re in pain but just help it. I can just see her laughing on the floor!!! Glue guns are horrible too. I want one of them apples.

    Reply
  4. I just love the fun you have with your family! I just wish you would not get hurt soooo much! Next time, just buy the apples ready to eat! 🙂

    Reply
  5. OUCH! Memories for your girls for sure. They will probably remember that the rest of their lives. 😀

    Ahhhhh, what we won’t do to entertain our kids. LOL

    Reply
  6. That should read “the things we will do to entertain our kids” DUH!

    Reply
  7. Ouch and yum! We just found a tub o’caramel that can be nuked for 2 minutes. It was pretty handy/dandy. Came with the tongue depressors too.

    Reply
  8. Tasneem R

     /  November 11, 2009

    Oh what a thoughtful mom you are ! 🙂 caramel apples sounds so yummy . Hope your finger is alright now.

    Reply
  9. S. Le

     /  November 12, 2009

    I would have then put my finger into my mouth and also burnt my tongue so you’re way ahead of me on that count!

    Reply
    • S.Le ~ Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I have learned from my past cooking mistakes not to do that! I’m not the sharpest knife in the kitchen but I learn from pain! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

